Gallery

You Don’t Mean Me Lord, Do You?

30 Jul

“Oh no Lord, you don’t mean me, do you”?   Yes, it’s confession time.  I’ve said it.  How about you?

My mind has jumped into that impossible mode so many times.  I can’t do that.  I don’t know how to do that.  I’m not equipped to do that.  People will make fun of me, and on, and on, and on.

I REMEMBER:

When my Mom died, He prompted me to get up and speak at her funeral.  Lord, I am so broken, you can not mean me.  I even wrote a poem that day because my Dad always wrote poems, and it was a remembrance of Dad and Mom, and I felt like it was the last thing I could do for Mom.  God was truly there giving me the courage to speak, and He gave me the words that I wrote.

I REMEMBER:

For many years I dreamed of retiring, but I would start thinking about finances and I had also told my boss I would give him a year’s notice.  My job was going to be hard to replace, or so he said.  HA!

My best friends at work retired at the same time two years before I did.  I felt the nudging at that time, but then I also felt commitment and obligation because there were three of us doing the same job for different contracts, and I knew it was going to be hard for us, our customers and oh woe is me with the additional workload waiting to fill their jobs. I was too important.  They needed me.  I did not listen.

On the spur of the moment one day God nudged me to move, to get out, to do what was important. Say What? WHO me?  WHAT was the future going to look like? How could we live like we had been living if I retired and my salary was much less? What would it be like being home all the time if I said Yes to God. I said yes, and I retired with only two months notice. I spent the year of 2012 visiting my Mom, taking her meals, reading to her out of the scripture and devotionals not knowing how precious these times were because she would be gone two short years later.

I also joined Melissa Taylor’s Online Bible Studies, now a part of Proverbs 31. I wanted to go to studies at church but they were only at night and I wanted to be home with my husband so I found these studies convenient and God led me there one day searching.  Now I can study 24/7.

I REMEMBER:

In September 2012, I was approached to be a leader for a Facebook group in the studies. I thought I am not equipped and no way.   Really Lord, you don’t mean me.  I am not equipped.  Yes it has been a dream to lead women, but Lord I really can’t do this.   I prayed, talked to my family and finally said YES to God. What happened is He took my obedience and equipped me to lead a group. At first my groups were quiet. One group I had only one lady responding and she was growing in the Lord because she was working so hard to help me, and little did I realize until later that God was grooming me for something big and preparing me for sad days ahead.

I REMEMBER:

Melissa Taylor calling me one day and we talked about the studies and my leading and dreams.  She encouraged me to start a blog and to write.  I was like there is no way I can figure all that out.  God said there is a way.  I am the way and I am going to walk you through WordPress and teach you.  The rest is history.

 

picmonkey-image-48

“Saying yes to God is always the right thing to do, but it’s not always the easiest thing to do. In fact, sometimes it’s really hard, uncomfortable, or inconvenient. But God has a purpose in those difficult moments. He uses them to challenge us, refine our hearts, and make us holy-pure-in-heart women He can use for a noble purpose.” Lysa Terkeurst – What Happens When Women Say Yes to God Workbook

I would love for you to share about a time that you said, “Oh no Lord, not me.”

I am joining Suzanne Eller today on #LiveFreeThursday and the prompt this week is You Don’t Mean Me Lord.  Come join us here.

Canva Design

50 Responses to “You Don’t Mean Me Lord, Do You?”

  1. Tanya @ Mom's Small Victories July 31, 2016 at 2:37 pm #

    God blesses and challenges us in so many ways. Thank you for the reminder that God has a plan that we may not always know about. Thanks for sharing with Small Victories Sunday Linkup and I hope you linked up with our Pintastic Pinterest Party too. Pinning to our linkup board and hope you found some great posts to visit this week!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking August 2, 2016 at 9:19 am #

      Thanks Tanya. I enjoy visiting Small Victories and the other posts.

      Like

  2. Lydia Borengasser August 1, 2016 at 9:56 am #

    Yes! I am helping a young lady who is in great need right now. It’s an amazing opportunity and privilege, but our stories and backgrounds are so polar opposite, I’ve thought many times, “God, why in the world did you choose me to be in this young lady’s life?” Yet, already, it has been a joy to see God work through me to show himself to her. I’m excited to see what he will do next.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking August 2, 2016 at 9:04 pm #

      Lydia I think God puts us together with opposites so we complement each other just like in marriages and as well friends. I know He is going to use you to do great things in her life – plant seeds.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Carolina Cisneros August 1, 2016 at 10:12 am #

    THIS is so beautiful. I love that you said yes and here we are. So blessed to know you virtually and to connect with you through Compel. There was a time I said no to Christ. It was about living upright. Every relationship I was in never moved me to want to be married until it hit me and Jesus spoke. Earth shattering, retreat speaking, Jesus. Long story short, I broke off a relationship and lived on my own for almost a year with a couple of pastors. I thought God would take forever to find me a mate, but he took no time at all and now I’m married to a most amazing husband, father (step/father), friend, and Christ follower. God makes everything beautiful in its time. That was my life verse before this happened. Little did I know that God would give me that life verse because it would apply to EVERY SINGLE aspect of my life. Thank you for linking up at #openmicmonday. ❤ You bless me. Have a super week!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking August 2, 2016 at 12:27 am #

      Thank you Carolina. What a beautiful story you have to share. Love how God has worked in your life. You have a super week too and so glad we have found each other on-line and in Compel.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Tanya August 1, 2016 at 11:53 am #

    I am pretty sure I say “Oh no, Lord, not me!” at least once a day. 😉 I am difficulty intolerant. Thank you for the encouraging reminder that it isn’t about me, it’s about what God wants to do in me and through me. I needed your words.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking August 2, 2016 at 12:17 am #

      I’m glad my words spoke to you today Tanya. Yours spoke to me too today. I could use a snickers.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. mbethany August 1, 2016 at 1:56 pm #

    So glad you are blogging and can testify in so many ways to God being faithful and having amazing things in store when we say yes to Him. Your words blessed me today as they challenged me. Thank you!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking August 2, 2016 at 12:10 am #

      Thank you for blessing me today.

      Like

  6. Lisa notes... August 1, 2016 at 3:06 pm #

    This makes me smile. I’ve had lots of those moments, “You can’t mean ME, Lord!” But yes, he can. 🙂 And he always equips, even more so when we lay down our own pride and let him equip us. Thanks for sharing this!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking August 2, 2016 at 12:22 am #

      He certainly does Lisa. YES!

      Like

  7. moreofhimblog1Julie August 2, 2016 at 8:32 am #

    This is so inspiring! Thank you for sharing it on my linkup. I know it’s going to inspire a lot of people!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking August 2, 2016 at 9:07 pm #

      Thank you Julie and thank you for the link-up.

      Like

  8. Mary Geisen August 2, 2016 at 8:40 am #

    Oh sweet friend, this post, just blesses me heart. I was nodding my head and saying “me too” throughout the whole thing. You and I are in similar places in our lives and it seems we have similar personalities. Your transparency here has reminded once again that God has this big, beautiful plan for all of us and it is soo good! I am blessed by your words today and you!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking August 2, 2016 at 9:05 pm #

      Thank you Mary and you’ve blessed me this evening. I wonder what “oh no’s” He will be leading us to next. I know He’s not finished with us.

      Like

  9. Rosa Hopkins August 2, 2016 at 11:17 am #

    I have felt that nudge into uncomfortable waters many a time. Often the, ‘who me?’ response is sheer confusion because I obviously lack the skills, qualifications, and if I were honest, the desire to accomplish said work. It is through these methods of picking the weak and the unlikely that God most gets glory out of his weakling vessels of clay.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking August 2, 2016 at 8:27 pm #

      I know I’ve lacked the skills so many times Rosa. I even forgot about my job from clerical to technical only because my boss pushed me. I thought no I can’t, and he and God knew yes you can.

      Like

  10. Joanne Viola August 2, 2016 at 4:04 pm #

    This blesses me. I can think of the times I felt like the Lord called me out where I had never been. It’s scary. Your beautiful post reminds me that God has reason for it all and if we but take courage, we will find that it is a good plan. So glad that I stopped here today! Blessings!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking August 2, 2016 at 9:11 pm #

      Ahhhh thank you for blessing me this evening with your sweet words Joanne.

      Like

  11. Marissa August 3, 2016 at 8:17 am #

    He knows us better than we know ourselves… allowing our trust to trump our fears is so important.

    #Aprons&Pearls

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking August 3, 2016 at 11:49 am #

      Yes trust for sure Marissa. Thanks for stopping by.

      Like

  12. Cascia Talbert August 3, 2016 at 9:24 am #

    So glad that you said yes, to God. It can be difficult to actually listen to Him. Thanks for linking up for Wordless Wednesday. Have a Blessed week.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking August 3, 2016 at 11:48 am #

      Thank you Cascia. Enjoyed visiting you today.

      Like

  13. Becky August 3, 2016 at 10:35 am #

    Saying yes can be so terrifying, but He’s there every single time. (And I’m learning something else too….He’s there in the “I don’t know God” and the “No God” and all the in-betweens.) But how He loves the Yes!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking August 3, 2016 at 3:27 pm #

      He is there in it all, and sometimes I know He is saying you go girl, you can do it.

      Like

  14. Sheila August 3, 2016 at 10:40 am #

    I loved this post. This week I wrote a post called, “You Can’t Talk Me Out of My Destiny” based on a message I heard from Pastor Steven Furtick. What resonated with me was the fact about how often we can talk ourselves out of something rather than talking ourselves into something. I can be a slow learner, stubborn and a people pleaser, but if I am to be a reflection of God I have to get out of my own way so God can complete His work in me. Fear of failure and rejection are powerful weapons, but God is more powerful than anything. Your post has encouraged me that I am on the right path I just need to quit being distracted by shiny objects 🙂

    #Aprons&Pearls

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking August 3, 2016 at 11:48 am #

      Thanks Sheila. I loved you post too. We do talk ourselves out of doing things rather than into them. I loved your blog – and let’s continue to let Him lead us to our destiny.

      Like

  15. messymarriage August 3, 2016 at 2:54 pm #

    Unfortunately, Deborah, my weakness is more impatience and overconfidence, so I find myself running ahead of the Lord instead of shrinking from a big task that He gives me. But so many people are like you, questioning their ability to conquer the task or even do it well. It seems to me that God has developed you in incredible ways over the years as you’ve yielded to Him in this calling. Thanks for inspiring us to do great things for the Lord with His enablement always working in and through us!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking August 3, 2016 at 3:27 pm #

      Beth I wish sometimes I was more overconfident, but I am doing better.

      Like

  16. kchripczuk August 3, 2016 at 3:44 pm #

    I’m so glad you strung these stories together in answer to your question. One time I definitely said, “not me” was when we found out we were expecting twins. I’m pondering their transition to Kindergarten this fall and your question here helps me remember God shows up around blind corners in unexpected ways. Thanks to this, I’ll be looking out for my own “not me’s.”

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking August 3, 2016 at 4:18 pm #

      Our DIL is expecting twins right now. Thank you for stopping by.

      Like

  17. Heather August 3, 2016 at 10:49 pm #

    Ummm yeah I have said that same phrase many a time…! I loved hearing more about your journey when you stepped out said yes! God is so awesome! And to do bible study 24/7…heavenly!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking August 4, 2016 at 9:19 pm #

      Heather Bible study 24/7 – yes it’s there anytime we need it. Love it. Thanks for stopping by.

      Liked by 1 person

  18. Crystal Twaddell (@CrystalTwaddell) August 4, 2016 at 9:24 am #

    Having the courage to step out and trust God has chosen correctly is an amazing experience isn’t it! Love any time I am encouraged to be brave and trust God’s heart instead of my own. So glad you are proclaiming this message on Fresh Market Friday:) Crystal:)

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking August 4, 2016 at 9:19 pm #

      Thank you so much Crystal.

      Like

  19. eclecticredbarn August 5, 2016 at 1:38 pm #

    What a beautiful story and post. I know that I would love to say “yes” to God all the time, but we are only human and sometime we are weak. I strive each day to listen and hear.
    Thanks for sharing at Over The Moon Party,
    Bev

    Liked by 1 person

    • Blogger Loves The King October 18, 2016 at 12:10 am #

      Thank you. Sometimes I do say no – not very often, but when He leads me different I do say no.

      Like

  20. Gayl August 5, 2016 at 7:36 pm #

    Sometimes it is hard to say yes to what God is calling us to do. For a long time I put off starting a blog thinking I wouldn’t have anything to say. Here I am almost 3 yrs later and I’ve had much to say and have made many online friends. Blessings to you! I’m your neighbor at Barbie Swihart’s #Glimpses.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking August 6, 2016 at 9:01 pm #

      Gayl glad you started blogging. I enjoyed visiting you this evening. Thanks for stopping by.

      Liked by 1 person

  21. repurposingjunkie August 8, 2016 at 1:51 am #

    That’s wonderful that so many doors have opened because you’ve been obedient to God!! He’s amazing and knows what is best for us all.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Blogger Loves The King October 18, 2016 at 12:05 am #

      Yes He is amazing and knows what is best for us always.

      Like

  22. Hazel Moon August 8, 2016 at 3:03 am #

    God has his reasons for those nudges and we do need to be quick to realize he is telling us something. I am so happy you were able to spend quality time with your mother and advance the kingdom of God. Thank you for sharing with us here at Tell me a Story.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Blogger Loves The King October 18, 2016 at 12:06 am #

      As always Hazel thank you for stopping by to visit and for the link-up.

      Like

  23. April J Harris (@apriljharris) August 8, 2016 at 1:04 pm #

    It can be hard to say yes to God, but when we really listen to his nudges it can lead to such wonderful things. Thank you so much for sharing this inspiring and encouraging post with us at the Hearth and Soul Hop.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Blogger Loves The King October 18, 2016 at 12:07 am #

      Thank you so much April for stopping by to visit.

      Like

  24. nikkifrankhamilton August 8, 2016 at 9:20 pm #

    This is how it’s been for the last 4 years, and believe me, I said “Why Me?” a lot. I had a stroke 4 years ago and I spent quite a bit of time in bed, and pouting. But I learned a lot as I built a new life, the old one wouldn’t work with my health anymore. But if I wouldn’t have had my stroke I wouldn’t have been able to help my kid when they found out about their mental and genetic issues. That would have been a travesty. I wouldn’t have been able to help them and champion them until I understood. Now I realize that God gave me his children to take care of and to do the best by them. So, I watch more for signs of what I’m supposed to do and be, thankfully I can see the signs so much clearer now. Although I still ask “Why Me?”

    Liked by 1 person

    • Blogger Loves The King October 18, 2016 at 12:08 am #

      Bless your heart Nikki. God certainly uses you so that’s maybe why me. He’s led you down a wonderful road to help and minister in your blog.

      Like

  25. mummyfever August 9, 2016 at 8:54 am #

    Life is full of challenges isn’t it – thank you for linking to #sharewithme

    Liked by 1 person

    • Blogger Loves The King October 18, 2016 at 12:09 am #

      Thank you for the link-up.

      Like

Leave a Reply

