Suzanne Eller Live-Free Thursday, Uncategorized

That Time God Asked Me To

Has God recently asked you to do something?  Honestly, I have to admit I feel His calling a lot.

What is your calling today?  Is it being a Mom, having a big career, taking care of a loved one, a pastor, teacher, police officer, volunteering to help others, or any other career?

What is God asking you to do today?  Whatever it might be, we need to learn to be content in whatever it is.

In one of C. H. Spurgeon’s devotionals he says, “Therefore  be not discontented with your calling.  Whatever God has made your position in life, or your work, abide in that, unless you are quiet sure that he calls you to do something else.  Let your first care be to glorify God to the utmost of your power where you are .  Fill your present sphere to his praise, and if He needs you in another He will show it to you.”

%22Tell me and I forget. Teach me and I remember. Involve me and I learn.%22

Reading Spurgeon’s devotion this morning reminded me of a lot of times that I have followed his calling – like the time when I could not be a stay-at-home mom.  I wanted to be, but I was not going to be a discontented mom.  It was hard taking care of two children and working outside the home full-time, being at church and involved in so many activities, but I learned to be happy and content as Paul teaches us in the Bible because I looked on the blessings of life of what I had, and not what I didn’t have.  I was blessed to have a mother-in-law and a mother who watched our kids, and I was blessed to have a job where I could be off on Fridays, and I had saved a lot of leave that I was able to use to be a room mother, the president of the PTFA, going on field trips with them, and never missing a soccer game, a basketball game, a volleyball game, cheerleader tryouts, musicals, dance recitals, piano recitals, or anything else that they were involved in with school and church.    I was blessed with a calling of being the Pre-School Director at our church so that I could be in the nursery with my children through pre-school, and I even taught 4 and 5 year olds where my children were included when they were that age.  I was there to rock them on Sunday mornings when they were babies and toddlers.

Are you being called today to take care of an aging parent or loved one?  I was with my Mom.  It was tough.  It was hard.  Honestly, I would love to go back and do it over.  My husband says I should have no regrets, but I do.  I would like to go back and be a little more patient, a little more loving, a little more kinder,  and what I would give for just one more day or even an hour to hug her or hold her hand.  If you are there today bless your heart.  Remember it will pass and you will be so thankful for all you did do.

A woman’s work is never done.  How do I know that?  I am now retired and retirement is bliss, but trust me if you are listening to God, your work is never done even in retirement.  My busy schedule today is composed of being up every morning at least by 6 AM and most mornings way before that.  I spend my early morning in Bible study and volunteering for the world’s largest on-line Bible study leading Facebook groups, and then there are Bible studies at church that I enjoy participating in.  During the school year I am substitute teacher, and many days it is with special needs children so I come home exhausted, and still am blessed with a husband working who comes home hungry so there are meals to prepare.  On the days I am home I am rushing to catch up on the laundry, cleaning house, paying bills, mopping floors and blessed to be able to keep both my grandsons several days a week.

Children

Retirement truly was a calling for me.  You can read a little about my retirement here, and also a little about what changed after I retired.  God said go and I said no, but God won.

Today I have a whole lot of callings and they all have the highest priority to me. I am a child of God, a wife,  a mom,  a mother-in-law,  a Nana,  a daughter-in-law,  a sister,  a sister-in-law,  a cousin,  an aunt, a volunteer Team Leader for a large on-line Bible study,   a hard worker, a substitute teacher,  a retired federal worker,  a conservative,  a Christian, I  a loyal friend that can be trusted to keep a confidence.

  • My first calling is always my Lord and my Bible studies and time alone with Him.  I usually am in at least a couple of studies – one with Proverbs 31 Online Bible Studies where God called me a few years back to be a group leader, and now a volunteer team leader and I am usually in a study at church, and then there is the First 5 App Devotional on my phone which is also a part of P31.
  •  Second, is being a wife trying to stay up with housework, trying to have a good hot meal waiting when he gets home, but right now it’s cold meals.  He loves salad so salad it is these days, and then just being the loving, devoted, in-love wife that I am.  I am so thankful for my man and we celebrate 47 years of marriage on August 16. I pray for many more years of bliss like we’ve had.  He is a keeper.
  • Third – my kids.  I want to be here for them anytime they need me.  Yes, they are both grown and I try not to meddle.  I may give my opinion occasionally, and once I do I shut up.  They are grown, they have families and they love the Lord so they can take or leave my advice.  I pray for them daily.  I’m here for them at least one day a week to take care of their sons, or if they just need a date night.
  • Fourth – We have an 18 month old grandson and a three year old.  They rock our world.  I never could have imagined how wonderful being a Nana could be.  They keep us young chasing after them and yep you stay-at-home Moms I am privileged to say I am a stay-at-home Nana on those days the boys are here and I’m cleaning up messes, chasing them around the sofa, sitting with them on my lap reading them books, playing ice breaker over and over and over with the three year old, working puzzles and playing with cars and teaching them about our Lord.  I would not trade this job for anything. I want to help “train them up” and I want to be a role model.
  • Fifth – Being a substitute teacher because God put me there.  I never in a million years would have told you I could do this, but one day God said go just like He said retire and well I did it and I LOVE it.  My first job I landed right in a special needs class and scared out of my wits, but God leaned down and smiled and I walked out that day forever changed.
  • Sixth – Writer.  Don’t laugh.  I know from reading others blogs that I am not the best at writing, but it is truly from the heart and what God is placing on my heart each time I can find the time to sit down and write.  I listen to things I should not like I can’t write, her blog is so beautiful, I don’t have the time and it wastes so much time I should be doing other things, and who is really reading what I am writing, they have a book, who am I? My writing is a ministry and it is a legacy I want to leave for my kids and grandchildren, and hey if the internet is around a hundred years from now who knows who might be reading this post.
  • So many other roles I have as ministry and as a calling – too many to write about one by one, but each one is special with family and friends to be there when I can in their joys and sorrows.

I leave you with this because it’s not about me – it’s about HIM.

%22When you realize God's purpose for your life isn't just about you, He will use you in a mighty way.%22

Joining Suzie Eller and my #LiveFreeThursday friends today

 

68 thoughts on “That Time God Asked Me To”

  1. This is perfectly timed for me! The Lord has just called me out of a job I thought I’d be in forever, to a new job I thought I’d never be qualified for. I’m so excited for the new opportunity but I’m very nervous…I just keep praying that He will continue to equip me to perform the work He’s blessed me with 🙂 Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. He qualifies the unqualified, but I know you are qualified in man’s eyes because you got the job. Wishing you well in that new job. I’ve been there before. You’ll do great.

      Like

  2. Wonderful. I’m a still working grammie and have many roles to fill too. I just joined Suzie’s Come With Me online bible study. Enjoying and learning so much. Thanks for linking at Grammie Time’s Party at My Place linkup today.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for stopping by Michelle. I wanted to do Suzie’s study but just can’t work it in right now. I’m trying to catch up on then house before school starts back in two weeks. Eeeek.

      Like

  3. Thank you for sharing this. Sometimes it’s really hard to make sense of God’s calling when it doesn’t line up with what we think we should be doing…or should *not* be doing. I can really relate to your comment about writing; who I am to say something someone may need or want to read? This whole topic has been at the forefront of my mind since Declare last week…whew! I hope you had a great time there!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey Wendy I didn’t get to go to Declare. We had a death in the family. I was really disappointed to miss but we had to go out of town 7 hours away and with the drive, funeral and visit it was all three days of Declare, but I know God has a plan.

      Like

  4. I love this so so much, and I definitely needed it today! As a stay at home mom, it can be really hard some days to feel accomplished, or even fulfilled. Thank you for putting it in a different perspective for me today! Have a happy weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Brandi it truly goes so, so fast. Mine are in their 30s and now we have grandchildren. I savor every moment with them because they grow up so fast. Enjoy the time.

      Like

  5. This article is also timely for me. I have been retired for a few years now and my calling has been to serve in our church’s ladies Tuesday morning Bible studies, helping care for grandkids the past eight years, and now caring for my husband with early stages of dementia. I am looking for all the tips I can get.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Connie thank you. I love morning Bible studies at church and they are talking about changing them to evening and I like to stay home with my husband. Our grandchildren are only 18 months and three. I am so sorry about your husband. I know that is very, very hard. Blessings to you as you minister to him and your family.

      Like

  6. Amen! Our lives are a beautiful gift from God and we should live to follow and honor Him. I love reading your words because I am able to nod my head often as I read along. Being in similar seasons of our lives makes it easier. I love walking this journey with you. Hope you have a blessed Sabbath day.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. This is wonderful. I often feel my calling, but I find it so hard to get out of my own way sometimes. And then finances always stop me. You are a beautiful soul, and I am glad I stumbled on you at #HappinessisHomemade 🙂 Stay blessed

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Your example and outline of some of God’s callings for you has helped me today! As a young adult seeking to obey the Lord and live content where He places me, I am facing a lot of questions about where exactly that is and trusting God when what He asks doesn’t seem to make sense. He is faithful, though, and I know firsthand that when we surrender our wants and hopes to be nearer to Him, the desires of our heart end up reflecting His! Thanks for this helpful and wise post!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I so relate with what you said about taking care of your mom. I took care of both of my parents before they died last year. It was hard. I know I did the best I could, but there are things I would do differently if I could go back. Thanks for being such a great example of listening to the Lord and going where he calls you. #overthemoon

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m so sorry you lost both in one year. And like you I would do a few things differently too, but we don’t get do overs. Thank you for visiting.

      Like

  10. God has a way of calling us to walk on paths we never dreamed we could traverse but with God all things are possible! I have been blessed to walk both difficult and joyful paths, both were a learning experience.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Yes yes friend. Amen to obediently carrying out what we’ve been called to do. And the beauty is he gives GRACE for each assignment. Happy to be visiting you from #raralinkup

    Liked by 1 person

  12. This is so good in so many ways. My purpose isn’t just about myself. Sometimes I find I need to get over myself and get out of the way and follow God’s callings. I love how you were able to do so many things through God’s strength and called those busy years with kids and activities a blessing. They truly are.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. We do need to listen to what the Lord is calling us to, Deborah, and not just to what everyone else thinks we should do or be. Sounds as if your retirement is keeping you as busy as when you were working full-time! I hear that a lot from my friends who’ve retired. You go, girl! God’s doing great things through you!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Beth. I’m loving retirement and I love all the busyness. I’m never bored and here I am and it’s almost midnight finding comments I missed months ago.

      Like

  14. Such a lovely post, a great reminder for us all. Sometimes in our busy lives, we forgot our purpose, to respond to God’s calling and be his child. Thanks for sharing this very inspirational post! #sharewithme

    Liked by 1 person

  15. This is timely. I’m visiting from Woman to Woman Word Filled Wednesday, and just before coming to your place, was dealing once again with negative feelings in conjunction with caring for my mother-in-law in our home, which we’ve been doing for three years now. Sometimes it helps just to know that other people have done it and found it hard as well. God does give the grace we need day by day.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Barbara. Hope things ease up for you. We always have regrets that we could have taken care of those parents better. My husband fusses at me for saying that because he saw all I did.

      Like

  16. We make our plans and God laughs … Is that how the saying goes? We don’t always want to say “yes” when He calls. But such good comes out of following His lead. Thank you, Debbie, for sharing. : )

    Like

    1. Yes Crystal. I was telling a friend today that I knew He laughed when I went to sub training and said no way Jose to subbing with special needs. I LOVE it and that’s where He sent me for my first job.

      Like

  17. I have been content with my calling for most of my life. I was busy for years ministering with my husband and I loved it. But my main ministry was always to my hubby and my children. At this stage of my life, I am not feeling very useful because of health issues, physical limitations. This is one reason why I started to blog. I don’t sit around feeling sorry for myself and I try to make the most of my time. But there is sometimes this little niggling inside that makes me feel useless.
    One day not long ago I read a devotional and the author said he was feeling the same way because of his health issues. He too was struggling with physical limitations.
    One day he read about the Lord’s visit to Jacob’s well. Jesus was resting. He was waiting. Then this Samaritan woman came along and He ministered to her. The scripture encouraged the author and made him realize that he didn’t need to scurry around- worrying about doing the will of God and getting His work done. In this season of my life, I too can rest and wait for Him to bring His work my way. As long as we’re here, there is always something that we can do to be useful for His kingdom. Even a person in a hospital bed can pray. Thanks for sharing and giving us food for thought.

    Blessings,
    Sandi

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sandi I worry about a time coming where I can’t do as much. I’m retired and very busy, but I feel old arthur some days. Love the devotional you shared and it’s so true that even from a hospital bed we can pray.

      Like

  18. We most certainly have a higher calling than just being here to work and spend money. Cultivating relationships with Him and with our family and friends is the most rewarding purpose we can have.

    Liked by 1 person

  19. At this time of life God has called me to be the best mother in law to my daughter in law. We share a house with her, my son and their three children. In moving in together I lost my own space, or I should say my private space that the Lord and I shared, a small patio with all my plants and flowers. Now we have a huge back yard with a pool and children always running around in it. I have lost my heart to fix it up for a private place and given myself over to making it a safe place for children. There are times when I get so frustrated and God has to remind me He brought my husband and I to this place. He did not say it would be easy but we do know it’s the very place He wants us. Good post.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Bless your heart. I know I love my own space and can’t imagine being with the kids someday, but I know it could come to that. So blessed you have a son you can live with.

      Like

  20. When we look back, there are many times we wish we had more patience, were kinder and more thoughtful, but all we can do is press on forward. You were privileged to have mom and mother-in-law to care for your children while you worked. Although I did not always work full time when my children were young, there were a few times it became necessary. God provides in various ways and sometimes it is by WORK. You are blessed to have been available for your children in church and at school. My last job (empty nest) gave me Fridays off which was a good day to make appointments and grocery shop. Thank you for sharing with us here at Tell me a Story.

    Liked by 1 person

Thank you so much for stopping by and commenting. MERRY CHRISTMAS and BLESSED NEW YEAR!

