Faith, Inspiration, Suzanne Eller Live-Free Thursday

Running For The Gold, Our Shelter

Running-3

Watching the Olympics this week, and reading  Suzie Eller’s prompt “running for the shelter” brought a whole lot of thoughts racing through my mind –  like running for shelter when we are caught in a down-pouring rain, running to our Father when the storms of life are battering down on us, and because I was thinking about running and watching the olympics that brought a whole new twist.

Have you been rained on out of the blue?  I have and soaked.  Have you been rained on when it had nothing to do with rain?  I think we all have.   Sometimes my parade is rained on and I can have a pity party.  You know what?  God intends for us to run to Him for shelter from the rains of life – the storms – He wants us to RUN to Him just as we would run from a real storm outside.  But He does not want us to stay there hiding.

IMG_3156a.JPG

I think if we are all honest there are times we have run from Him or run to Him.  For me, most of the time I’ve run to Him in those storms, in those terrible times when the storms battered down and I felt like I wanted to die inside, but I’ve probably run from Him a few times when He was calling me to do something, and I did not listen.

He needs to be our shelter in the midst of the storms.

I ran to Him when my parents died, I ran to Him when our grandson was born with a disease, I’ve run to Him watching our kids pray for children and even when we prayed for children, but I can remembering running at least one time in my life.

So what is a challenge to me.  How do I want to win the gold?  My gold is pleasing God.  I want to win a medal every day in His eyes.  I want to be the best wife, the best Mom, the best Nana that I can be.  Am I going to fail?  Yes, probably every day.

It doesn’t stop there.  I always did my best at work, and as a daughter I seemed to always please Mom and Dad.   Do I fail?  Yep, I do all the time, but just like the Olympics it takes time, it takes practice, and for me it has taken a whole lot of digging into God’s Word to improve all areas of my life.  It has been a race, it has been warm-ups and trials and Bible studies and learning when I make mistakes and mess up.

Regardless of what I am running to or from or for, the gold is only through Him.  The gold is His wisdom.

How much better it is to get wisdom than gold! And to get understanding is to be chosen above silver.   Proverbs 16:16 (NASB)

Joining Suzie Eller today in #livefreeThursday.  Come join us here.

Linking up also with  http://simplifylifewithmrsr.com/2016/08/09/simplify-wednesdays-9/

 

38 thoughts on “Running For The Gold, Our Shelter”

  1. Thank you for sharing your thoughts on running for the gold 🙂 I have not watched the Olympics this year (shame on me). I will probably catch a few events on youtube or something. That was always one of my favorite things to do as a kid, watch the Olympics. Now as an adult, I understand how much more precious our prize as children of the King will be once the race is finished.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I still love the Olympics Renee as old as I am – my hubby not so much but he tolerates them because I like them and the DVR is full.

      Like

  2. Hi Debbie, I, too, have struggled to run to and fro … I have always had a solid faith in my Creator but there are times when I was angry and ran away … like when he took my Mom and Sister in the same year … when I prayed and prayed to save my drug addicted son … when I prayed for my nephew’s life to be restored from the horrors in his mind. I felt like he was not listening … but after much soul searching and quite a few years later I realized that I was His vessel … I got down on my knees and yelled “Do you really think I can take anymore? I am weak!” But I realized that He knew I was strong. He knew I was the voice my children needed. He gave me a task, one of which I did not like nor understand, but I never gave up … and thankfully today my children are sober, productive and beautiful human beings. I still struggle with Him taking my Mom and Sister but I also know their job on earth has been completed, they are no longer suffering… they reside with Him now. Thank you so much for sharing with us at #SimplifyWednesdays, I invite you to come back next week I would love to see what you share. Pinned, Tweeted and Shared

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Carla that would be so hard to go through all you have, but God knows how much we can handle doesn’t He. I know how hard it is losing a mom and dad, but don’t want to lose a sister. I’m the oldest so maybe I want. I agree to that I was able to give thanks Mom was no longer suffering and it was me who was selfish wanting to keep her here. YES, I’ll be back to Simplify Wed each week. Thank you so much for the link-up and for tweeting, pinning and sharing.

      Like

  3. I always think about spiritual lessons when I watch the Olympics… dedication, perseverance, pursuit of goals, etc. Your reminder about what is truly valuable and worthy of pursuing fits right into that! Thanks for your good post!

    Like

  4. Are we running from him or to him? Good thoughts to ask ourselves! I want God to be my shelter, and he wants to be. But I have to *want* to run into the shelter to get the most protection. Truth: “Regardless of what I am running to or from or for, the gold is only through Him. The gold is His wisdom.”

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Debbie, I think God is trying to tell me something about wisdom today. It hit me when I was reading my Bible this morning, and again with your words here. I appreciate the point about God being our shelter in the storms, but not our permanent hiding place when we are supposed to be out doing something else! So glad to be your neighbor today at Intentional Tuesday. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Lois I love how He confirms something He is wanting us to hear/know by repeating it over and over. It happens to me a lot.

      Like

  6. What a beautiful post. Why is it that when we need him, we run to him, and when it doesn’t go our way, we run from him. He knows what’s best for us, we just need to keep believing always.
    Thanks for sharing at Over The Moon Party,
    Bev

    Liked by 1 person

  7. What a great comparison you made saying that as Olympics takes time, takes practice, it is the same with us when trying to be our best at work, as a mother, as a wife, or to God.
    Thanks for sharing with us at Sweet Inspiration party

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I really love your analogy. I am huge into watching the Olympics, so we have repeatedly watched people go for gold for the last 2 weeks. I am so in awe of how many Olympians stood up and professed their belief in God. What a platform to reach Millions. I hope that in my life as I run to God during the storms that I am showing others through example, what it’s like to find shelter in my God. I wouldn’t have made it through the storms without Him. And I always know that when I find shelter with Him that it’s a catalyst for change. Sometimes raising up, out of his safety is the hardest thing to do.

    Liked by 1 person

Thank you so much for stopping by and commenting. MERRY CHRISTMAS and BLESSED NEW YEAR!

