Inspiration, Kate Matoung Five-Minute Friday

LIFT

The LORD helps the fallen and lifts those bent beneath their loads.

Do you have a weary soul today?  Do troubles just seem to be stacking up against you?  Sometimes, or even every single day can be hard.  I’ve been there a few times, but I know what I know, and that only He can lift me up in times of despair.

During the hard times and the good times I wake up knowing that He raises me up just like a father or mother raises up a toddler.  I was raising my three-year old grandson up to the top of a door post this week with all the strength I could muster to get him up there (you know these old shoulders and it hurt, but it felt so good hearing him laughing).  He kept saying, “do it again Nana.”  That’s how our Father in Heaven is.   He keeps doing it again and again and again – lifting us up to so much more than we could ever be on our own.

anitas21st-birthday

I don’t know what today or tomorrow may bring, but what I do know is that I can not make it through the hard times if I don’t have my eyes lifted high.  (Click to tweet here.)

It’s hard losing our parents.  I never knew how hard, but God lifts me up and sends little reminders like this little dragonfly who was just fluttering around last summer one evening.  Mom loved dragonflies, and now I do and each one I see reminds me.  After our grandsons birthday last year our son and daughter-in-love were on their patio and one flew in and landed on my son’s hand.  A sweet reminder on a day Mom couldn’t be with us celebrating, but she certainly was there in our thoughts.

but-thou-o-lord-art-a-shield-for-me-my-glory-and-the-lifter-up-of-mine-head

No matter what you may be going through today may He lift you up, as this song says, to where you belong.

Join us today at Five-Minute Friday as we write for 5 minutes on the prompt Lift.

lift

 

30 thoughts on “LIFT”

  1. This is beautiful! I was reminded of lifting up our kids, too. But, so amazing to think that God never tires of doing it, that he created us to be lifted by him. Thanks for this encouragement! (Visiting from FMF)

    Like

    1. Thanks Annie. Such good thoughts. He never tires of lifting even though we do. As the grandkids are getting heavier it’s getting harder. Thinking of a new blog.

      Like

  2. This is a great post. It’s also a great reminder of how God will always help us get through anything.

    Thank you for sharing this with us on the #HomeMattersParty. We hope to see you again when we open our doors on Friday at 12AM EST.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. How thankful I am to have a good Father Who reached down into the miry clay and set me on the solid Rock! Psalm 40 is what came to mind when you wrote about the way God lifts us up.

    Like

  4. This is a beautiful post. Yes, when we are down God is the One who will lift us up every time. Love the story of the dragonfly! I lost my mom earlier this year and I find myself thinking of her as I choose to wear some of her jewelry or use some of her kitchen items. It’s a reminder of her presence.

    I know what you mean about those “old shoulders” as I’ve been with 5 of my grandchildren this week. They keep me hopping but it sure is a blessing to be with them.

    Blessings to you! I’m your neighbor at #SmallWonder.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Joanne I am so glad my words brought comfort. That lifts me up. I so understand how hard it is to take care of our parents. I’ve lost both mine. it’s so tough, but so rewarding and you’ll be glad for all you’ve been able to do for them someday my friend. HUGS!

      Like

    1. Thanks Michele. It melts mine too. It’s my hubby and our grandson who has a disease and we did not know if he would live, or crawl, or walk, but God did and I know He is smiling at the miracle He blessed us with.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Amen! He does lift us up and His arms never get tired! And this song brings back such wonderful memories!! Love it!
    Thanks so much, Debbie, for reminding us of this hope and sharing it with us at #MomentsofHope!
    Blessings and smiles,
    Lori

    Liked by 1 person

  6. What a great reminder that God is always there with us. Always wanting the best for us, and always placing Us in situations to rise up. When things have been the worst in our lives God has shown me a rainbow. Sometimes the rain has come out of nowhere on a bright sunny day, and the rainbow appears. He is there, and leaving signs for us to help us through our hard times. I hope that dragonflies are always present in your life and give you comfort.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Nikki for this and the comment about dragonflies. I remember when we were looking at our house and buying another piece of property behind it for horses as we left there was a rainbow out of nowhere and I took that as a sign from God.

      Like

Leave a Reply

