Books

Must-Read Books or What I Read This Summer 2016

PicMonkey Image-4

I love reading.  I love studying.  How about you?

Before I retired a couple of years ago, I was busy buying books.  The bookcases are loaded with lots of christian-oriented novels and suspense books.  I would go in to Half-Priced Books and find some that sounded interesting and bring them home thinking I would be sitting here on the sofa and reading in January after I retired. HA!  I would guess I might have finished a dozen of those books in the past five years, but they are waiting on me.

I try to read at least one novel-type book a quarter.  I mostly get to read that type of book when I am on the treadmill.  Now you see how much I am on that treadmill.  HA!  Grandchildren have a wonderful way of changing your plans.  And then there is substitute teaching, on-line Bible studies, blogging, meeting friends for lunch, and the list is never-ending.

Soooooo what have I read this summer – some amazing books I love?

The Book of Numbers, Romans and 1st and 2nd Corinthians

 Let me tell you this is the most wonderful way I have ever found to read the Bible – not in a year – but a chapter a day with Proverbs 31 Ministries and an app for your phone called The First Five App or you can do it on-line.  Honestly, sometimes days are hectic and I can get behind, but it is easy to catch up later.   The app shows up on your phone each morning and there is a great devotional to go along with a chapter in the Bible.  To go along with it and if you would like to go deeper, you can buy the optional book you here.    Currently, we are finishing up Romans, 1st and 2nd Corinthians.

The Husband Project by Kathy Lipp

This is an on-line study we did this summer with Proverbs 31 Ministries.  I almost took the summer off from Bible study, but decided to do this one along with another at church.  Why did I not take the summer off?  Because, my husband is worth it.  Why in the world did I need a study like this one after 47 years of marriage?  Because my husband is worth it and the things I did in this 21-day project made a difference in me and him.  My marriage was fine, it was great, but I am always looking at ways to make it greater.

The Way of The Shepherd – 7 Ancient Secrets to Managing Productive People                                     by Kevin Leman and William Pentak

This is a wonderful book.  I was part of a study with all the team leaders in our on-line Bible studies.  Each chapter focuses on a principle using ancient secrets of a shepherd.  The analogy is used of leading a flock of sheep or a team of people.

101 Ways To Show Your Husband You Love Him by Kathy Lipp

 Need I say more!  I’m still getting ideas from this one.

Take One and Take Two by Karen Kingsbury 

I finished Take One and now reading Take Two.  These books are about a family and some friends who are making a Christian movie and they have very little financial support.  One of the families has returned from years of being missionaries and there is trouble as their daughter is in a secular college and she is trying to find her way.  It deals with real-life issues like alcohol, temptations, financial troubles, and even sexual relations among cast members.  I love Karen Kingsbury and have a whole shelf of her books to read.  There are currently four books in this series.  I’ve got to pick up the last two and I love going to Half-Price Books because they are cheaper.

The Best Yes by Lysa TerKeurst 

My church did this study this summer.  Again, I wanted to take the summer off, and after all I had done this study with Proverbs 31 On-Line Bible Studies, but this one was different so I joined.  We actually did not read the book again, but watched the accompanying videos and went through the workbook.  It was amazing what I had not learned and gained through this study.  If your life is as busy as mine, you’ll learn how to say yes and how to say no.  Lysa calls it our “best yes”, and yes I used it two weeks ago when the school called and needed a full-time sub for a while.  I had to say no to full-time, but I can help out a few days a week.

That’s what I read this summer.  How about you?  Know any good books.

This post was featured on Women With Intention on 9/7/16

 

 

 

87 thoughts on “Must-Read Books or What I Read This Summer 2016”

  1. Thanks for sharing all that you read. I am glad you put books of the Bible first in your list. I just finished reading Deuteronomy and have started Ephesians. I also like to read on the treadmill but I spend time praying first – then reading. Love it. Great to connect with you through the link up.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hmmm . . . I think I need to read that “Best Yes” book . . . add it to the list! I’m enjoying a new author I found, James Marting, a Jesuit priest. I’m looking forward to heading to my alma mater’s library once my kids are back in school and stocking up on good reads!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m jealous. My kids are grown but I sub so I’ve headed back to school unless on a day like today I am honored to keep my two toddler grandsons. I haven’t hear of that book. Good reading to you.

      Like

    1. Those all sound like good books Sherry. I’ll be checking out your review in a bit. Thanks for sharing. I just started Uninvited by Lysa TerKeurst.

      Like

    1. Candace I almost took off because I’m a volunteer Team Leader and we broke for the summer, but I couldn’t resist and so glad I didn’t

      Like

  3. That’s a great list!! I’m not a big fiction reader, so I tend toward picking up The Best Yes. I’ve heard an awful lot about it : ) Glad it was useful to you!

    I read a ton this summer. Definitely loved The Happiness Dare by Jennifer Dukes Lee and (if you like older books) The Simple Things of the Christian Life by G. Campbell Morgan!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m picking up The Happiness Dare or asking for it for Christmas. We just started Uninvited in our P31 Online Bible studies and I’m starting one at church called, Open Your Bible. It’s going to be busy around here.

      Like

  4. I love to read but this summer has been so incredibly busy with family home and the passing of a loved one that the only chance I get to read is at night before I turn out the light. I have read several Karen Kingsbury books and also Francine Rivers. Two of which I read just lately. I then pass them on to my mother who is in a nursing home. I do enjoy the stories and adventures one gets to go on while reading a good book. Of course, the Good Book is by far the best reading of all. Thanks for sharing.

    Blessings,
    Sandi

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I’m in the middle of The Best Yes and The Happiness Dare by Jennifer Dukes Lee. As well as three or four others, ha! I think I keep books all over the house so I can read wherever I am with a few spare moments. I really like listening to audiobooks while I was dishes and fold laundry.

    Visiting from Three Word Wednesday

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Thanks for linking to #sharewithme – can’t remember the last time I read for pleasure…just work stuff, although I read to the children every night

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I read so much that I oftentimes forget to keep track of what I’m reading, especially the Christian fiction since I seem to breeze through those. I know I read the Whispers on the Moors series by Sarah E. Ladd and Irish Meadows by Susan Anne Mason earlier this summer. I remember really liking all of those books. I also read Mark of the Thief and Rise of the Wolf by Jennifer Nielsen – those are young adult books. I pre-read those for my boys. I read Harry Potter and the Cursed Child when it came out, and now I’m reading He Speaks to Me by Priscilla Shirer. My daughter and I have also been doing an informal end times Bible study in the mornings together. Oh, almost forgot – I’m reading and writing study questions for Red: The True Story of Red Riding Hood by Liesl Shurtliff for my homeschooled daughter and her friend. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Brandi those sound like really good books. I haven’t hear of He Speaks To Me. I may pick that one up next. Thanks for sharing.

      Like

  8. These sound like lovely reads! I find I don’t have enough time to read. I read my Bible and that’s about it. The Husband Project sounds great — I really want to check that one out!

    Thanks for sharing (and for linking up to the #SHINEbloghop).

    Wishing you a lovely day.
    xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know what you mean. I am a Nana and the days the boys are here I have to rush to try and get my Bible study in before they arrive, but some days I barely get a half cup of coffee down.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Ally love your comment. Yes I suppose I agree with some of the cheesy but I’m picky when I buy one. Thanks for sharing.

      Like

  9. I read most of my books on my computer Kindle (free app from Amazon). I subscribe to BookBub and to the Christian site: “I Love to Read.” Both offer E-books at low prices and often FREE. I take the free ones usually. Lately I have been reading about the working of the Holy Spirit in the lives of Godly ministers, and how the gifts of the Holy Spirit are available for all who seek them. The books you shared sound awesome, and the studies with a group keep a person motivated. Thank you for sharing with us here at Tell me a Story.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hazel I’ve downloaded a lot of e-books but I’m not good about reading them on the computer. My study books I like to highlight. I could read those good fiction books though on the computer and maybe should try that so they don’t stack up.

      Like

  10. Thank you for sharing your list! I absolutely love the fact that you listed books of the Bible and listed them first!!

    The Husband Project and The Best Yes are on my “To-Read” list along with several other titles. Positive reviews from others often help me decide which is next. Thank you for your help!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. I used to read loads of books before I had the boys but now I just don’t have the time! My reading at the moment and for the previous two years has been for my university degree which i still love and feel like i am reading for leisure anyway 🙂 I loved Jack and Jill by James Patterson 🙂 #sharewithme

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know what you mean by not having the time. I wish there were more hours to read more than I’m able to. I went back and finished my degree when my kids started college. That was hard taking care of a family and working full time. Wishing you well.

      Like

  12. This is a great list, Debbie. I’m reading Salvation Crystal Clear by my childhood pastor. This book is all of his sermons on salvation. Thanks for sharing with Thankful Thursdays.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Jann I wish I had more time to read. I don’t know how it flies so fast and I’m always behind like responding to comments. LOL!

      Like

  13. I love discovering what you have been reading! I love having more time to read since retirement and I also have many books on my shelf purchased some time ago that I am just discovering now. Even though I can read books electronically, I still prefer the feel of pages turning in my hand. Great to visit you today!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I love turning pages. I love highlighting my study books. I don’t think I’ll ever be able to read electronically. I’m retired too, but life sure is not any slower, but much happier.

      Liked by 2 people

  14. I’d like to read the Best Yes and I need to get back to riding stationery bike, that’s when I get more reading done too. I have not been reading much at all lately. Thanks for sharing with Small Victories Sunday Linkup, pinned to our Linkup board.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Crystal I don’t really have time. I do my Bible studies in the early morning or at school on conference when I am subbing. Fiction books I will read a chapter or two on the treadmill, but I don’t get on it much either. I probably wouldn’t get any reading done if I wasn’t doing the Bible studies – they keep me accountable.

      Like

Thank you so much for stopping by and commenting. MERRY CHRISTMAS and BLESSED NEW YEAR!

