September Goals and August Recap

13 Sep

september-goals

WELCOME FALL!  Well almost.  It’s still a few days off.  Good thing because usually by now I am decorating, but not yet this year.

The to-do lists never end, do they?  For me there seem to be so many wonderful, beautiful demands.  I love them all.  I am thankful for them all, and thankful that I am blessed with the health to accomplish them, but there are so many other things too that don’t get done, and I have found it makes it a little easier to sneak them in with setting goals.

Being in a hurry.  Getting to the next thing without fully entering the thing in front of me .  I cannot think of a single advantage I have ever gained from being in a hurry.  But a thousand and missed things, tens of thousands lie in the wake of all the rushing….through all that haste I thought I was making up time.  It turns out I was throwing it away.  Ann Voskamp

FAITH

I don’t really want more time ; I just want enough time.  Time to breathe deep and time to see real and time to laugh long; time to give You glory and rest deep and sing joy and just enough time in a day feel hounded, pressed, driven or wild to get it all done.  Ann Voskamp

AUGUST:  All accomplished

Pray Reverently and Fervently Each Day – We are trusting God to do some mighty things which I hope to be sharing in another month or two.  

Continue my Romans and 1 and 2 Corinthians Devotions each day with the First 5 App from Proverbs 31 Online Bible Studies. – July 25 – September 24

SEPTEMBER:

Continue praying for the mighty things God is doing in our lives right now.  I’ll share in my October post I promise.

Finish the Romans and 1 and 2nd Corinthians Devotions each day with the First 5 App

Begin the Deuteronomy study with Proverbs 31 devotion app on September 26.  Find out about that here.

Satan said, “you can’t do your on-line study and also one at church and your daily devotion.”  God whispered you can with me.

holidays-5

Begin the on-line Bible study called Uninvited with Proverbs 31.   You can sign up or check it out here .

Begin a Bible study at church called Open Your Bible by Rachel Myers and Amanda Bible Williams.

Seek to have a quiet time every day.

Be still and know that I am God. ~Psalm 46:10

FAMILY GOALS

AUGUST:

Swimming with family.  It’s August 16 and my husband, 18-month old grandson went swimming one evening already and my husband and I have been in twice, and last week I had both boys and PaPa came home early with a picnic snack for them.  They loved the chicken strip, fries, apples and juice.

Our oldest grandsons third birthday party.  Was loads of fun.

Our 47th wedding anniversary.  Was romantic as always with that man.

Got to add one more.  Spent time with family cleaning out our niece’s father’s house who died last summer.  My sister, brother-in-law, another niece and her husband were all there to help so we had lots of time to visit and eat pizza our niece when and picked up for us.

SEPTEMBER:

Going to our lease with our son, daughter-in-law and grandson.

Keep the grandsons for one mom who has been sick and the other for a date night and doctor’s appointments.  One is spending the night this Saturday so our son and his wife can go on a date night.

Help our niece clean out her Dad’s house who passed away last year.

HEALTH GOALS

AUGUST:  Total Success

Wear pedometer – 10,000 steps a day or more. Exercise by swimming at least 2 days per week, eat healthier.  (I lost the pedometer twice  working in the yard so hmmmm.)

Lose 2 pounds.  (Sticking this one.  Don’t think it will happen this month.)

Drink 6 large glasses of water per day.

Plan and prepare healthier meals.

SEPTEMBER:

Go for yearly physical

Semi-Annual Dental Cleaning

Wear pedometer – 10,000 steps a day.

Treadmill at least one time a week.

Drink 6 large glasses of water per day.

Plan and prepare healthier meals.

FRIEND GOALS 

AUGUST:  Total Failure

Try and meet another friend for lunch or coffee.

Have some neighbor ladies over for tea/coffee. I hope I can work this one in before school starts back in less than two weeks.

SEPTEMBER:

Try and meet a friend for lunch or coffee.

Have some neighbor ladies over for tea/coffee.  This has been on the list forever, and now it’s back to being hard again with school having started.

HOME GOALS

AUGUST:

Finish cleaning and organizing master bedroom closet. (Almost Done)

Catch up on filing in office.  (Failure)

Get the lift-gate recall done on the car.

Buy new tires and have them installed on the car.

SEPTEMBER:

Decorate for Fall

Finish cleaning and organizing master bedroom closet.

Catch up on filing in office.

BLOGGING GOALS – Total Failure

With school starting and so many other things happening in August I barely had time to write, but that’s what I did when I found some time.  I am going to continue to move the goals to the next month until I get them completed.

Lesson 2 – Blogging Course. This is the 5th month I’ve had this as a goal. Not sure I can get it done even this month with school starting in a little over two weeks. It is a big lesson, but I am working on the first part and that was going thru all of my old blogs.  I cringe thinking it is already the 5th month.  How can that be?  Where does the time go?

Review and clean-up 15 more blog posts plus 20 I already completed, so it will be 35.

Delete at least 500 more emails (I did get about 200 done, but think 200 or more were added)

Linky Page – Work on a few more days of this project with a completion date of August.

SEPTEMBER:

Lesson 2 – Blogging Course. This is the 6th month I’ve had this as a goal. Not sure I can get it done even this month because the school is calling a lot for substitutes. It is a big lesson, but I am working on the first part and that was going thru all of my old blogs.  I cringe thinking it is already the 8th of the month.  How can that be?  Where does the time go?

Review and clean-up 15 more blog posts plus 20 I already completed, so it will be 35.

Delete at least 500 more emails.

Linky Page – Work on a few more days of this project with a completion date of October.

If you enjoyed this post, you may enjoy these.

Designfrom APrettierWeb for goals

56 Responses to “September Goals and August Recap”

  1. mitzineely September 13, 2016 at 10:13 am #

    Thanks Debbie for your honesty and transparency. Sometimes it’s tough trying to take care of all that we want to accomplish. And while we may think of things undone as failure, they really are just setbacks. I loved reading about your goals whether for ministry, home, friends, family, or hobbies. Helps us keep the proper perspective. God Bless You.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Blogger Loves The King September 15, 2016 at 11:16 pm #

      Thanks Mitzi. My setbacks are His agenda not mine so I’m ok with not meeting them. At least a lot is getting accomplished.

      Like

  2. lynnjsimpson September 13, 2016 at 2:47 pm #

    So much intentional living here! And what I love is that you know there is life happening so realistically some things do shift and that is OK!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Blogger Loves The King September 14, 2016 at 7:12 am #

      That’s what I love Lynn. Shifting gears when and letting God lead. God and family come first always.

      Like

  3. Lyli @ 3dlessons4life.com September 14, 2016 at 3:37 pm #

    Debbie: I love how intentional you are about setting your monthly goals. These posts always nudge me in the right direction. Thanks, friend. Iron sharpens iron– and you are very sharp.

    xo

    Liked by 1 person

    • Blogger Loves The King September 15, 2016 at 11:18 pm #

      Thanks Lyli. I am sure trying to be sharp. HA!

      Like

  4. elizabethfstewart September 14, 2016 at 9:10 pm #

    I agree with Lyli, your goal setting is inspiring!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Blogger Loves The King September 15, 2016 at 11:18 pm #

      Oh thank you Elizabeth for your compliment.

      Like

  5. Tai East September 14, 2016 at 10:40 pm #

    Debbie, I just love this! You’ve inspired me to set some goals of my own. Thank you so much for sharing! GOD bless you, beautiful friend! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Blogger Loves The King October 29, 2016 at 10:46 pm #

      Yea Tai. I remember back in the Spring my first time to do this. You’ll love it.

      Like

  6. ohmummymia September 15, 2016 at 4:32 am #

    I’ve never write down my goals but its looke really nice maybe I should think about it:)
    #sharewithme

    Liked by 1 person

    • Blogger Loves The King October 29, 2016 at 10:47 pm #

      You should try it.

      Like

  7. kchripczuk September 15, 2016 at 8:04 am #

    This is such a helpful practice. I’m trying to get clearer about my goals and to make projects more quantifiable so I can enjoy those successes when they come. Thanks for linking!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Blogger Loves The King September 15, 2016 at 11:20 pm #

      Thanks for the link-up. I’m so glad I started doing this

      Like

  8. Emma T September 15, 2016 at 8:12 am #

    I know what you mean about blog courses. I signed up to a lightroom course, photography course, and 2 blogging and 1 instagram courses earlier in the year. None of which I’ve finished and some I’ve not started. So I really need to get onto those. The hard thing is doing all of those on top of work and the blogging I already do. Good luck with your Sept goals. #sharewithme

    Liked by 1 person

    • Blogger Loves The King October 29, 2016 at 10:53 pm #

      Wow Emma. I would love to take some photography courses.

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Clairejustine September 16, 2016 at 2:37 pm #

    You are making and meeting some great goals. Love your lists 🙂

    Thanks for linking up to the Wednesday blog hop

    Liked by 1 person

    • Blogger Loves The King October 29, 2016 at 10:54 pm #

      Thank you Claire and thanks always for the linkup.

      Like

  10. Cascia Talbert September 16, 2016 at 3:07 pm #

    Sounds like you had a fantastic August and some pretty big goals for September. Good luck with your blog course and all your goals!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Blogger Loves The King October 29, 2016 at 10:54 pm #

      Thank you Cascia.

      Like

  11. Sandi September 17, 2016 at 11:35 am #

    Thank you for sharing, Debbie. It is good to set goals and if one doesn’t reach them all, that’s okay because we know that God leads us. As for hurrying, I remember a plaque my parents had hanging in the kitchen one time which said, “The hurrier I go, the behinder I get.” I have found that to be true so many times. God doesn’t want us to be hurriers. He wants us to take our time and pray things through first. The rest will follow accordingly. Have a wonderful weekend.

    Blessings,
    Sandi

    Liked by 1 person

    • Blogger Loves The King October 29, 2016 at 3:22 pm #

      Thanks Sandi. You have a blessed weekend!

      Like

  12. Jann Olson September 17, 2016 at 9:35 pm #

    I think setting goals are important. I don’t usually write them down, but have mental goals each day. The trick is not get upset if you don’t accomplish them as quickly as you’d like. Life happens and you have to learn to go with the flow. I may have plans to clean a closet one day, but a friend will call and I’m off having fun. Which is more important? Growing relationships, if you ask me! Thanks for sharing with SYC.
    hugs,
    Jann

    Liked by 1 person

    • Blogger Loves The King October 29, 2016 at 3:24 pm #

      I agree Jann goals are goals but having fun with a friend wis so much more important.

      Like

  13. mummyfever September 18, 2016 at 3:33 am #

    It sounds as if you are a real support to you family. Thanks for linking to #sharewithme

    Liked by 1 person

    • Blogger Loves The King October 29, 2016 at 3:24 pm #

      I sure try to be a real support to them, and think I’m successful.

      Like

  14. Joanne Viola (@JViola79) September 18, 2016 at 6:38 am #

    I love the goal setting! You have done it in such an intentional manner which has to be most helpful each month. Even if all things are not checked off, I bet it is more than would be if you had not set goals at all. I may just need to write a few goals down so that I at least work towards them this week 🙂 Glad to have stopped here this morning.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Blogger Loves The King October 29, 2016 at 10:55 pm #

      Thanks Joanne. Glad you stopped by to visit.

      Like

  15. nikkifrankhamilton September 18, 2016 at 10:26 am #

    I try to set myself small tasks on the blog that I can do daily. I read and comment and share 10 posts from the linkup, I pin 10 pins, share 10 things on social media. If you can only do 5 post a week cleanup, then do one each weekday. If I give myself smaller goals I can find 10 minutes or so to get it done. When I set the goal too high and I miss one day it seems to snowball, I hate that.

    Saying that, you have accomplished so much, and have set priorities on the things most important to you, and that’s the biggest part of the battle! Keep moving forward, it’s inspiring to me to see how much you get accomplished!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Blogger Loves The King October 29, 2016 at 10:56 pm #

      Thanks Nikki. I’m trying to catch up on comments. I seem to stay behind, but staying up late trying to get to the current ones so I can stay current.

      Like

  16. Lori @ Frog's Lilypad September 18, 2016 at 11:30 am #

    Debbie, these are wonderful goals. It’s nice to have a new day or a new month to start over if we don’t get them completed. What blog course are you working through? I’ve downloaded several free ebook courses, but finding the time to read them is hard. Thanks for sharing with Thankful Thursdays.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Blogger Loves The King October 29, 2016 at 10:57 pm #

      Lori I am working on the EBA blog course.

      Like

  17. KreativK September 18, 2016 at 12:21 pm #

    You have such a great list of goals for the next months to come, I’m inspired by them! I do not write them down, which would be a lot better I bet, because you don’t loose sight of them even if you don’t complete them all!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Blogger Loves The King October 29, 2016 at 10:58 pm #

      Because I blog about them and do it each month and I go back and review last months to see what to move over they don’t get to be forgotten even though sometimes I would like to forget one or two.

      Like

  18. Lisa notes... September 18, 2016 at 3:46 pm #

    I so appreciate how you include not only the things you accomplish, but also the things you don’t. I, too, have those things that I intend to do one month but then I just transfer them to the next month because they were left undone yet again. Maybe we should just cross them all altogether! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Blogger Loves The King October 29, 2016 at 10:59 pm #

      It may come to crossing them all altogether Lisa. I hope I can keep up with them, but sure seems a couple of them keep sliding.

      Like

  19. Hazel Moon September 18, 2016 at 8:00 pm #

    Congratulations on 47 years of marriage. And yes we do get busy and I love the quotes from Ann Voskamp. We also fail and our to do list is not always accomplished – so I quit making a list. Thank you for sharing with us here at Tell me a Story.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Blogger Loves The King October 29, 2016 at 11:00 pm #

      Thanks Hazel. Without the list I think I would get little done, especially the big stuff.

      Like

  20. April J Harris (@apriljharris) September 19, 2016 at 9:45 am #

    You had a lot of goals – I think it’s great you accomplished the ones you did! I work hard to concentrate on one thing at a time as well – it’s hard not to get distracted and caught up in the hurry. Thank you for sharing with us at the Hearth and Soul Hop and Happy Anniversary to you and your husband!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Blogger Loves The King October 29, 2016 at 11:00 pm #

      Thanks April.

      Like

  21. Lori Schumaker of Seaching for Moments September 19, 2016 at 3:03 pm #

    Those blog goals seem so little when we write them down on paper, but they really take a lot of time and effort! Getting through 35 old posts to refresh them is a lot! Congrats on that! Maybe it’s the dipping of your toes into just one lesson of the blog course. I know some I have taken, I didn’t finish until months later when the bulk of the participants finished right on course! I had to force myself not to compare and believe in my own path – the one God laid uniquely for me. I’ll be praying for all your studies, too! I really wanted to do “Uninvited”, but I just couldn’t squeeze it in.

    Blessings and smiles, friend!
    Lori

    Liked by 1 person

    • Blogger Loves The King October 29, 2016 at 11:02 pm #

      Lori you are such an encourager. Yes I need to dip those toes in the blogging course, but something else is always more important.

      Like

  22. Donna Reidland September 19, 2016 at 6:48 pm #

    Thanks for your honesty! I think we all have those goals/projects that keep getting moved forward. Sometimes I find I must re-evaluate my commitment or desire to do them, but other times, I want to do them, but life simply happens and things don’t always go according to my plans. I’ve got an online course I haven’t gotten to and some other blogging goals … and then there’s the treadmill. Enough said!

    Have a great September. Praying we both get to scratch more things off our to-do/goals lists. By the way, I stopped by from Spiritual Sundays. Blessings!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Blogger Loves The King October 29, 2016 at 11:02 pm #

      Oh that dreaded treadmill Donna.

      Like

  23. Mary Geisen September 20, 2016 at 7:14 am #

    You are one busy lady! I love this monthly recap and goal setting. You do an amazing job even though you don’t think you get through your list-keep in mind your list is very comprehensive. I admire you for substitute teaching-you know that is not in my future even as a retired teacher. I pray as we work on finishing up September you find that God has you right where he wants you and you did what he wanted you to do. Sending hugs friend!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Blogger Loves The King October 29, 2016 at 11:07 pm #

      Yes Mary I believe He has me right where He wants me and yes that list is comprehensive each month and the months are so short. I love subbing but that will probably have to stop when the 3 new grand babies come in Feb/Mar.

      Like

  24. Sherry September 20, 2016 at 10:50 am #

    I read over half of the bible this year. I have never done that, it has been one of my goals for a long time and I decided this was the year. I can’t believe how much of it applies today and I wasn’t even aware that God had written about this over 2,500 years ago! A total awakening for sure. Everything else is just part of the pot of stew! Thanks for sharing at Home Sweet Home!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Blogger Loves The King October 29, 2016 at 11:08 pm #

      Thank you Sherry. That’s a great accomplishment. I started reading through with Wendy Pope and loved it this year but by March I was knee deep in the blogging course and life.

      Like

  25. Crystal Twaddell September 20, 2016 at 12:23 pm #

    Writing our goals down is so important to accomplishing them! And isn’t it wonderful to cross them off and see where God leads as a result of our diligence! Blessings as you continue in your goals and also inspire us along the way!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Blogger Loves The King October 29, 2016 at 11:08 pm #

      Yes I love crossing those goals off.

      Like

  26. Jennifer | The Deliberate Mom September 21, 2016 at 5:16 pm #

    Wow! You had such a productive month! Congratulations on meeting so many of your goals and I love your plans and ambitions for September.

    Thanks for sharing (and for linking up to the #SHINEbloghop).

    Wishing you a lovely evening.
    xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

    • Blogger Loves The King October 29, 2016 at 11:09 pm #

      Jennifer thanks for your comment and for SHINE.

      Like

  27. Tami September 24, 2016 at 10:49 am #

    I really need to set some realistic goals for my spiritual life. Thanks for the encouragement you’ve provided at LIteracy Musing Mondays.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Blogger Loves The King October 29, 2016 at 11:09 pm #

      Thank you Tami.

      Like

  28. JES the Pilgrim September 29, 2016 at 9:17 am #

    I LOVE the quotes you shared about “time”!! Very inspiring! Thank you also for linking up with us on the Art of Home-Making Mondays at Strangers & Pilgrims on Earth!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Blogger Loves The King October 29, 2016 at 11:09 pm #

      Thanks JES. Love linking up with you.

      Like

Leave a Reply

