Gallery

Uninvited Bible Study Notes – Chapters 4 and 5, Conversation Starters and Blessing Others

26 Sep

Week 2 of this study and each chapter gets better.  To think before I started this study I did not think any of it would be applicable to me, but I should have known better.  I have yet to do a Proverbs 31 Online Bible Study and it not punch me some place.

Chapter 4 – Alone in a Crowded Room

Have you ever walked in a crowded room and felt alone?  I have and it takes a whole lot of Jesus to get me through.

Lysa reminded us the problem is not the people in the crowded room, and that we need to prepare in advance with a fullness from God, and that we have to respect ourselves so that we can be able to break our pattern of unlacing unrealistic expectations on others.  Ouch!  Why do I place those expectations on others?  How do I prepare in advance?  This was an eye opener for me as she shared the secret shift we have to make and that is:

“Do I walk into situations prepared with the fullness of God in me, free to look for ways to bless others?”

Or…….

Do I walk into situations empty and dependent on others to look for ways to bless me?”

I have been guilty of walking into a room and expecting others to seek me out.  I am an introvert, and it is hard for me to start a conversation. Here are some ways you and I can start a conversation at an event:

picmonkey-image-5

I’m printing out a smaller version of this and tucking it in my wallet until I get them imprinted in my mind.

Share some ways you start a conversation.  I would love to hear your ideas.

Lysa shared Paul’s prayer to the Ephesians about the fullness of God in Ephesians 3:14-19:

Oh that when we walk in a room of people that we might grasp that fullness of our Lord so that we might bless others.

picmonkey-image-59

Chapter 5 – Hello My Name Is Trust Issues

One of my favorite take aways from this chapter was that “the peace of our souls does not rise and fall with unpredictable people or situations.  Our feelings will shift, of course. People do affect us.  But the peace of our souls is tethered to all that God is.”

Here are the notes from Chapters 1 through 2.

10-productivity-tips

44 Responses to “Uninvited Bible Study Notes – Chapters 4 and 5, Conversation Starters and Blessing Others”

  1. welcomesue September 26, 2016 at 10:37 am #

    such a great insight:“Do I walk into situations prepared with the fullness of God in me, free to look for ways to bless others?” Just prayed this a.m. that I would be filled to all the fullness of God.
    it’s so true that we put our insecurities on others and expect them to fill us instead of Jesus. When full of Him, He puts us on the giving/spilling over end, and we get filled anyway. thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Blogger Loves The King October 29, 2016 at 11:37 pm #

      We need to pray that every morning Sue.

      Like

  2. Debbie Kitterman September 26, 2016 at 1:09 pm #

    Univitedis such a powerful book full of those “mic-drop” moments… or as you say, punch me moments. This book was so good and I am glad to see your post today at #LMM where we are neighbors. I especially liked your conversation starter questions.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Blogger Loves The King October 29, 2016 at 11:38 pm #

      Thanks Debbie. I loved all those punch me moments and hoping to get some written on this blog so I can put the book away.

      Like

  3. lynnjsimpson September 26, 2016 at 2:13 pm #

    So true that once we place expectations on others to fill us or meet our needs, we set ourselves up to judge them and allow others to be our identity instead of being secure in Christ alone. It’s so freeing when we are full in Christ and so freeing for others too, to be themselves with no conditions attached. Sounds like a great study!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Blogger Loves The King October 29, 2016 at 11:44 pm #

      It was a great study Lynn.

      Like

  4. Beth Willis Miller September 26, 2016 at 2:49 pm #

    Love this great summary of the Uninvited Bible Study notes. I heard Lysa’s interview this morning on James Robison’s Life Today TV show…powerful…the book sounds wonderful! Many blessings to you!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Blogger Loves The King October 29, 2016 at 11:44 pm #

      Thank you Beth and blessings to you.

      Like

  5. Lesley September 27, 2016 at 2:01 am #

    Thanks for sharing your reflections on the book. I think that mindshift from feeling empty and looking to be filled to realising we have the fullness of God and looking to bless makes a big difference. Even just reminding ourselves of that before we enter a situation can change how we approach it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Blogger Loves The King October 29, 2016 at 11:49 pm #

      Lesley it’s true having the fullness of Him and reminding ourselves before we enter into a situation can change the whole outcome.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Mary Geisen September 27, 2016 at 6:56 am #

    I am glad to read your thoughts about Uninvited. I have seen many people post about the book but not with a more indepth discussion of what it is about. I imagine this is a book I will read in the future. Lysa has a way of hitting home with her words over and over. Glad you are enjoying the study.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Blogger Loves The King October 29, 2016 at 11:49 pm #

      Thanks Mary, It was really a great study.

      Like

  7. Stacey Thureen September 27, 2016 at 8:59 am #

    Thank you for the reflections and summary. Sounds like a great tool. Blessings!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Blogger Loves The King October 30, 2016 at 12:10 am #

      Thank you Stacey for stopping by and commenting too.

      Like

  8. Kristi Woods September 27, 2016 at 10:44 am #

    I’ve yet to read Uninvited, but it’s at the tip-top of the list. It sounds as though it “hits the spot”. Your conversation starters list is a good one, too. What a great idea to share it! I’ll often ask folks where they’re from, or if I’m at a school event and most folks are strangers, I’ll offer a handshake, my name, and whose mom I am. It almost always opens a connection. Visiting via #raralinkup and #intentionalTuesday.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Blogger Loves The King October 30, 2016 at 12:11 am #

      Thanks Kristi. I think it’s easier sometimes when you are someone’s mom. My kids are grown now so it’s me trying to meet people alone.

      Like

  9. Vickie Petz Henderson September 28, 2016 at 7:11 am #

    Glad to be your neighbor at Sitting Among Friends today. I have “Uninvited” at the bottom of a stack of books on my nightstand. Now I can’t wait to pull it out

    Liked by 1 person

    • Blogger Loves The King October 30, 2016 at 12:12 am #

      Hope you pulled Uninvited out Vickie. I’ve finished it and it was great all the way to the last word.

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Brooke Grangard September 28, 2016 at 8:34 am #

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts. I find once I can actually break out of me-thinking and look how to serve others, freedom comes. Sounds like a great book.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Blogger Loves The King October 30, 2016 at 12:15 am #

      It is a great book Brooke.

      Like

  11. Stacey Thureen September 28, 2016 at 12:10 pm #

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts and insights regarding this Bible study. It sounds like a great resource. Blessings!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Karen September 28, 2016 at 1:39 pm #

    I have a very introverted daughter (and still have those strong tendencies myself) I have to talk to her all the time about what “stand off-ish-ness” communicates to other. It doesn’t tell people you are shy and unsure… it communicates that you are unfriendly and sometimes even aloof. Yes, I had to learn that the hard way. So most of the time, we just have to fight our feelings and just say hello or start talking. It feels weird, but most of the time it invites others to start talking. Thanks for sharing this!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Blogger Loves The King October 30, 2016 at 12:01 am #

      I agree Karen we do come across unfriendly. It’s something I’ve really had to work on.

      Like

  13. Maria from Collecting Moments Blog September 29, 2016 at 9:06 am #

    As an introvert, this post is so helpful. I love the list you made and will be taking your cue. I’ll be printing out a little copy for myself and tucking it into my wallet. Thanks so much for joining us on #shinebloghop this week!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Blogger Loves The King October 30, 2016 at 12:00 am #

      Thank you Maria for commenting and thanks for the SHINE link-up each week.

      Like

  14. Carrie Anderson September 29, 2016 at 11:11 am #

    So I was fighting getting this book, but I might have to cave now, since both those chapters “punch me”. (I call them Jesus 2×4’s 🙂 )

    I found you from the #WAYWOW link up and I’m now following you via Twitter and Pinterest. Looking forward to connecting with you! It’s always nice when you find sisters who love the Word as much as you do. Feel free to stop by my place anytime! I always have coffee 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Blogger Loves The King October 29, 2016 at 11:56 pm #

      I’ve never heard Jesus 2x4s but I love that. Hope you got the book and enjoyed it. I’ll be heading over to your place now – catching up on old comments – a bit behind and I need coffee. It’s midnight here.

      Like

  15. Lisa notes... September 29, 2016 at 12:53 pm #

    This definitely gives us more confidence to share the love of God: “Do I walk into situations prepared with the fullness of God in me, free to look for ways to bless others?” Thanks for sharing more from this book. So good.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Blogger Loves The King October 29, 2016 at 11:54 pm #

      That was one of my favorites Lisa having His fullness to bless others.

      Like

  16. Liz Giertz September 30, 2016 at 6:00 am #

    These are great, Debbie! We Army Wives are the new girl in town every couple of years. And it can be hard… I’ll have to share your list! Blessings!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Blogger Loves The King October 29, 2016 at 11:54 pm #

      Girl I bet you are great at being an Army wife. I know you are. xo.

      Liked by 1 person

  17. Hazel Moon October 1, 2016 at 2:24 am #

    I love your conversation starters. I have used some of them, but I need to copy this for future reference. Thank you for sharing with us here at Tell me a Story.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Blogger Loves The King October 29, 2016 at 11:53 pm #

      I really needed the conversation starters. Why is it I can write stuff down but not speak it?

      Like

  18. Julie Syl Kalungi October 1, 2016 at 6:18 pm #

    Powerful, totally awesome post! Thank you for the upliftment and empowering message and for sharing at the pit stop!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Blogger Loves The King October 29, 2016 at 11:53 pm #

      Thank you Julie. Enjoy the Pit Stop.

      Like

  19. April J Harris (@apriljharris) October 3, 2016 at 6:09 am #

    Your Bible Study really is raising some very important points – and it’s lovely that you are sharing what you are learning & this encouragement with us at the Hearth and Soul Link Party. Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Blogger Loves The King October 29, 2016 at 11:52 pm #

      I’ve got so much to share from other chapters April. Just so busy and the study is over and another one starts in a week so I hope I can squeeze it in after this #31daywrite

      Like

  20. nikkifrankhamilton October 3, 2016 at 12:01 pm #

    Wow! I needed this, punch back to reality! I too am an introvert in crowds, when I’m with people I know I can be extroverted and cut loose. But walking into a room where I am not comfortable is hard for me. I end up talking way too much cause I am so anxious. This will help me prepare myself better, and hopefully I will look more for the person I can be a blessing too and stop worrying what others think of me. Since my stroke this has been a real challenge as I am more self-conscious, I so need to get over that!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Blogger Loves The King October 29, 2016 at 11:51 pm #

      I am like you Nikki. I can become an extrovert easily around people I know.

      Like

  21. Lori @ Frog's Lilypad October 3, 2016 at 7:58 pm #

    But the peace of our souls is tethered to all that God is. – YES! People fail us, but God doesn’t. Thank you for sharing this reminder with Thankful Thursdays.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Blogger Loves The King October 29, 2016 at 11:50 pm #

      Yes tethered. This book is amazing.

      Like

  22. mummyfever October 4, 2016 at 4:17 am #

    Thanks for linking to #sharewithme

    Liked by 1 person

    • Blogger Loves The King October 29, 2016 at 11:50 pm #

      Thank you!

      Like

Leave a Reply

