Gallery

WRITE 31 DAYS – DAY 26 -CONFRONTING TRIALS

1 Nov

picmonkey-image-41

Today’s prompt in the #write31day challenge was confront.  I really do not like confrontation, and honestly it is not a word I am comfy in writing about.  Because I know we will have trials I went to look up some verses about suffering and trials.  The first verse we studied in our Bible study class this morning.If you have not been confronted with a trial in your lifetime just hold on.  Trials come.  It seems the older we get the more trials there are – child abuse, elder abuse, miscarriages, infertility, losing a child, losing a spouse, divorce, loss of jobs, loss of parents, taking care of ailing parents, sickness, disease and the list just grows and grows or at least that has been how it has been for us.

I could share a whole lot of trials in my own personal life, and yes some of them still break my heart – the loss of my Dad and Mom, the loss of two nephews, watching my Mom suffer, watching my children suffer through infertility and miscarriages, having a grandson who has a horrible disease.  In the midst of all of it I’ve had to count my blessings and thank Him.  How do you do that?  How did I do that?

  • My Dad did not have to suffer growing old or go through open heart surgery.  I don’t know what would have been in store for him, but it appeared it was about to be surgery.  I am blessed that I had him as my Dad even though we lost him at sixty-eight.
  • My Mom had suffered through depression of losing dad, getting a bacteria in her leg during an operation, and then losing her leg to that, and being septic and many bouts with pneumonia after that.  I am thankful she is no longer suffering and dealing with depression and the pain of losing her leg.
  • Miscarriages – For a long time I didn’t know where the blessing was there, but eventually God showed me had I not walked through those horrible losses that I would not have been blessed with the two children we have.
  • Infertility/Miscarriages – My children have walked through this and eventually they have been blessed with a boy and both are toddlers now.  Our son and DIL are expecting twins boysand our daughter and SIL a girl in March.

And after you have suffered a little while, the God of all grace, who has called you to his eternal glory in Christ, will himself restore, confirm, strengthen, and establish you.  1 Peter 5:10 (ESV)

See that verse.  It says that after we have suffered a little while.  Our sufferings may seem like a life time, and honestly some of them may be because of diseases and sickness.  Our only hope is Jesus, and we must cling to Him and His Word.  Both will strengthen us daily.

  • Loss of two nephews.  This one is very hard – probably the hardest thing we have been through.  We have to hold on to all the precious memories of them growing up.  Holidays are never the same.  It’s been almost twenty years, but the pain is still fresh.  We can praise Him though for all the times we had with them and that he sent them for awhile to be part of our family.

But Jesus beheld them, and said unto them, With men this is impossible; but with God all things are possible.  Matthew 19:26 (KJV)

  • A grandson born with a horrible disease.  That one has been as hard as losing our nephews – watching him in NICU and then having his feet wrapped, and still seeing sores on his little body and wondering if it will all go away.  It’s incurable, but we’ve watched God perform miracles that the doctors don’t believe.  We praise God for this child.  He is so cute, so sweet, so smart and witty.  I know you think that is a Nana talking.  No it really isn’t.  Anyone who knows him can see how smart he is.  So we continue to praise and be thankful for this child.  We continue to pray every single day for this child.  We thank God for the privilege of giving him to our family.

These verses are a reminder to  us  to  be patient, be in instant prayer,  count it all joy,  and with God ALL things are possible.

Rejoicing in hope; patient in tribulation; continuing instant in prayer Romans 12:12 (KJV)

My brethren, count it all joy when ye fall into divers temptations; Knowing this, that the trying of your faith worketh patience. But let patience have her perfect work, that ye may be perfect and entire, wanting nothing.                          James 1:2-8 (KJV)

In the hard times worship God.  In the good times worship Him.  In the trying times praise God.  In the hard times praise Him and thank Him for what He is doing.  Find something to be thankful for.  In sufferings seek out a blessing and thank God.  It’s there.  Just open your eyes and glimpse all He has done for you.

 
 
4 Responses to “WRITE 31 DAYS – DAY 26 -CONFRONTING TRIALS”

  1. Heather Roberts November 1, 2016 at 8:31 pm #

    Loss of children is so horrible. I am sorry for your loss. Praying for you.

    Like

  2. Sheryl November 4, 2016 at 1:02 pm #

    This is the second things I have seen this week that used 1 Peter 5:10 And after you have suffered a little while, the God of all grace, who has called you to his eternal glory in Christ, will himself restore, confirm, strengthen, and establish you. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

    • Blogger Loves The King November 6, 2016 at 8:01 am #

      Sheryl God speaks to us in that way. I love how it says suffered a little while. A great reminder.

      Like

  3. nikkifrankhamilton November 7, 2016 at 11:59 am #

    Since my stroke I have learned so much about suffering. It has pulled me closer to God. I don’t like that my life was turned upside down, but I am so thankful for the lessons I’ve learned. I am far more empathetic and my heart is softer. Yes, I do get short or upset at times, and I don’t like that, but I am learning. I take each trial as a opportunity to learn to be better, things happen for a reason, so I want to make sure I’m not missing the boat.

    Like

Leave a Reply

