Gallery

Finding I AM Study – Week 2 Notes -“I AM” The Light of the World

15 Feb

16300448_1591983627484023_3436589970172013072_o

Week 2 – I AM The Light of the World

Day 1 – The Festival of Tabernacles And The Living Water

Do you sometimes look for signs from God?  Are you wondering what He wants you to do?  Sometimes we aren’t even paying attention to what is in front of us.  Lysa shared about a neighbor who lost his wife to cancer and his loneliness.  With his words how he was not doing so well, Lysa invited him to dinner. She knew it was an assignment from God.  A tradition started at her house on Monday nights.  Her family has continued this tradition of Monday night dinners where they invite others.

I know in my heart God has been telling me to invite my neighbor women over for a tea/coffee.  He has placed my neighbors right in front of me.  I know that and yes, I do things for them.  We have ice cream, have had a widower over for a New Year’s meal, other neighbors over for meals and ice cream,  and so many other things.  God’s stirring my heart.  Somehow I have to find the time, and I think that God wants me to write that on my calendar for Spring break and start it as a monthly thing.  I let busyness get so in the way of ministering right here where I live.

How about you?  Has God spoken to you about an assignment and you are missing what is right is in front of you?

A story that Lysa has shared before is when Ken walked out of her house that evening and he picked one of her flowers and told her, “Don’t miss this.  Don’t rush through your life, Lysa.  Make time to stop and breathe it all in.”

I am reminded of that story so many times – when I walk out my door and see all the beautiful plants, the trees, the clouds, birds, fruit growing on our trees, bird eggs,  a sunrise this morning from my den, or sunsets in the evening from my kitchen,   and just so many other things.  I looked out a bit ago when I was getting another cup of coffee this morning and saw six doves sitting outside my kitchen window – six big doves – a family of them that have been here a very long time.  Actually, the first dove we ever saw showed up the day we pulled in the driveway from one of our nephew’s funerals.  He was sitting right on top of the eave where we enter our home.  It was like a sign of love from God, and I guess he/she has been here ever since and now we have a family of six.

Eventually  Lysa’s friend Ken remarried, but Lysa says they still invite friends, family and co-workers over on Monday nights.  They pay attention to breathe it in even with to-do lists and schedules that are tugging at them.  They “don’t allow anything to take priority over these moments. They refuse to let people that have been entrusted  get their “less” instead of their”best” because of distractions.

Don’t be distracted.   Be engaged.  Breathe it ALL in.  It can change your life, and others.

Now on to the Feast of the Tabernacles.  It was a joyous and the longest festival celebrated by the Jews.  Can you imagine an eight day festival?

Lysa shared the three major events of the feast:

  • Participating in a procession of psalms;
  • Observing as the priests daily poured water from the fountain of Siloam onto the altar;
  • Illuminating four large menorahs each night int he temple courts.

There would be a sacrifice, pouring of water on the altar, and a torch at night – thus water and light.

It was at this time that Jesus, it says in John 7:37-38  that Jesus stood, cried and said “If any man thirst, let him come unto me, and drink. He that believeth on me, as the scripture hath said, out of his belly shall flow rivers of living water.”

Last week we studied how Jesus Christ was The Bread of Life, and this week how He is The Living Water.  What are you filling up your bucket with?  Let Him be the one that quenches your thirst.  Keep your eyes on The Bread of Life, the Living Water.

bloggerlovesthekingt

Day 2 – I AM The Light Of The World

Today we learned about the end of the Feast of the Tabernacles where they have a torch dance.  Women stand on a roof and men below, and there are four large menorahs with seven lights each, and they light up the whole area.  Lysa said they would light up all of Jerusalem.

She said this happens every night of the feast and that the light “symbolized not only what God had done in the past (pillar of fire/light that led the Israelites through the wilderness) but also pointed forward to what God was going to do, specifically through the coming Messiah.”

During the feast, Jesus told the people that He was the light and that once we have that light He would take away the darkness.

We were reminded that each one of us have dark places in our lives where we refuse to let Jesus shine in.  Had a little soul searching time during this week.  What darkness do I have?  The only thing I can think of is food and I am finally realizing what an addiction food can be.  It’s got to be almost as bad as drinking, but God isn’t finished with me yet.  He keeps talking, and I haven’t been obeying – listening yes, but not obeying.

Day 3 – Light Word Study

We started day 3 going back to Genesis when God created light – He separated the light from the darkness.

We took some time to think about light and it’s functions of illumination, sustaining life, causes things to grow, provides warmth, and dispels darkness.  I can associate with everyone of those and really all of them today.  I love sitting here in the morning in my Bible when the sun rises and how beautiful it illuminates the earth, how in the Spring it causes things to grow and even right now the days have been close to the eighties and buds are starting to come out on the trees,  one of my plants already has flowers on it and my bulbs are blooming.  The warmth felt so good today at the park last week.  I took my grandson and when we sit down for our picnic lunch he said he was cold.  I was too.  The wind was blowing hard and clouds covered the sun.  I said let’s pray God sends us son and soon He did,   and we had a wonderful time playing in the wooden park as he calls it.  I was home alone two  weekends ago, and well I don’t sleep well when my hubby is gone so I dispelled some of the darkness by leaving a couple of lights on in other rooms.

God is always there to shed light during our dark times.  We just need to remember to call out to Him.  Stop and look for glimpses from Him during those times.  He’s right there every moment of light and darkness in our lives.

Day 4 – Healing The Man Born Blind

This chapter spoke a lot about the dark places, discouragement , the light, and a blind man.

The disciples thought the blind man was blind because of sin.  Jesus responded the man was born blind so that the work of God would be seen in Him.

Our first grandson was born with a disease called EB.  It’s horrible, but God has performed miracles on him – toes grew, feet straightened up and sores disappeared.  When I read Jesus’ response I guess this is the first time I’ve really let that sink in, and probably because of what we’ve been through wondering, worrying and asking why.

Only Jesus can illuminate our dark places.  Only Jesus can perform miracles.

Lysa ended this day saying, “And because of Him even my darkest of nights aren’t so daunting and confusing.”

Day 5 – Optional

We read John 5-9.  You should too.  These are the things that I wrote down that spoke to me.

  • That I need to always put my trust in Him, and that I need to bow down and worship Him.  (I do that prayerfully some days, but need to do it so much more.)
  • We know the Word but are blind to it.   (Really I know so much of the Word, but there are new truths every single morning as I open my Bible.)

Video 2 Notes

Lysa’s videos are filled with so much truth that I can’t share here on my blog.  You can purchase them here.

Just a couple of notes I want to remember:

She shared the Samaritan woman in this video and how many times have I read and heard sermons on the Samaritan woman.  You would think I would be tired of that woman, but the story never grows old and always has some new truths for me.

I loved today’s video where Lysa took us to Shechem where the well is that the Samaritan woman visited.  It was such a blessing to watch Lysa at that well.

She talked about how we are all broken cisterns like the Samaritan in some way.

She reminded us that fifteen minutes with the Living Water can change our lives.

 

Leave a Reply

