Gallery

FUTURE (Five-Minute Friday)

2 Jun

It’s time for Five-Minute Friday.  That means no edits, set the timer and go. Today’s prompt is Future, and let’s see where this goes in five minutes.

Medieval.png

I am not sure what my future holds, but God does, and I have learned to trust Him in the bad times and the good.   You know the Bible reminds us that tomorrow is not promised (Proverbs 27:1) so I am making the most of every single day.   I will be turning 67 next week.  It seems impossible.  I still feel like that little nineteen year old girl that married her high-school sweetheart.  This August we will be celebrating our 47th anniversary.  The days are going so very fast.

When I retired five years ago I was not sure of my future.  Still not really.  At that time I had spent a career working for the Department of Defense for over 43 years right out of high school working my way up through the ranks as a female in a male world, finished college right after my daughter.  Mom was still alive so I was spending a lot of time with her at the nursing home.  I also became involved in on-line Bible studies becoming a leader, then I became a substitute teacher (both dreams I had had of leading women and being in the public school system to show Christ to students). Mom died in February one year, our dog died on Mother’s Day, and then in August our first grandson was born with a horrible disease.  It was a tough year, but because I had retired and was spending so much time in the Word and in prayer that helped me get through it all.

I’ve raised two children who are in their thirties, and we now have five grandchildren (3 of which were born this March).  Our kids live close so we get to see them a lot. In fact some weeks I see them most days.   Next week I’ll be keeping the twins four days so life is busy.

What does my future hold?  I have no clue, but the more I study my Bible and participate in studies, I know my future holds more of Him and less of me.  My one word for 2017 is intentional.  I wrote about that here.  I have been very busy this year with school and family and overjoyed to do all that I am able to do – blessed with good health to do it all.

My prayer for my future is that God will allow my husband and I  to see these grandkids grow up, and that we will be healthy enough to continue to do things with our adult children and grandkids, as well as continue to be able to write and participate in my Bible studies to reach others to Christ.

I read something today that I want to remember and be reminded of.  Coach John Wooden shared a 7-point creed his dad (Joshua Wooden) wrote and gave him and his brothers when they graduated from elementary school.   Here are those points which I believe would benefit each of us in our future, and they go so well with my one word – intentional for 2017:

  • Be true to yourself.
  • Make each day your masterpiece.
  • Help others
  • Drink deeply from good books, especially the Bible.
  • Make friendship a fine art.
  • Build a shelter against a rainy day.
  • Pray for guidance and give thanks for your blessings every day.

May every day be a masterpiece, giving thanks, being true, helping others, drinking deeply of good books and my Bible, making friendships like fine art, and building a shelter for when those rainy days come.

10 Responses to “FUTURE (Five-Minute Friday)”

  1. Lisa McClanahan June 2, 2017 at 11:48 pm #

    I am your Five Minute Friday neighbor this week. I agree that everyone can benefit from your points for 2017.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Blogger Loves The King June 5, 2017 at 9:30 am #

      Thanks Lisa. I enjoyed your #FMF post this week.

      Like

  2. Andrew Budek-Schmeisser June 3, 2017 at 12:37 am #

    “I know my future holds more of Him and less of me.” This is perfect, and I’m going to pin it up on the refrigerator. Well, ‘magnet’ it up.

    Love John Wooden’s seven points, and Joshua Wooden’s quote. Thank you for these.

    31 at FMF this week.

    http://blessed-are-the-pure-of-heart.blogspot.com/2017/06/your-dying-spouse-318-pain-glory-and.html

    Like

    • Blogger Loves The King June 3, 2017 at 6:01 am #

      Thank you Andrew. It’s really touched my heart. A friend shared it yesterday and it’s had such an impact on me.

      Like

  3. Lesley June 3, 2017 at 5:26 pm #

    I love the 7 points in the creed, especially “make each day a masterpiece.” That’s a great perspective. Hope you have a lovely birthday! Visiting from FMF#25.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Blogger Loves The King June 3, 2017 at 9:03 pm #

      Lesley that was my favorite one too. Love them all, but that one will stay in my head as I think how I am His masterpiece.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. gingerloowho June 8, 2017 at 1:35 am #

    What an interesting life! I know you are enjoying sweet days with your grandkids. I enjoyed the life tips from Coach Wooden. Blessings!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Blogger Loves The King June 8, 2017 at 6:29 am #

      Thanks Ginger for stopping by and commenting.

      Like

  5. luvsclassics June 8, 2017 at 6:58 am #

    I like the seven points, may I share it to my Facebook page? Found your blog from a photo with a quote that I had saved.

    Like

    • Blogger Loves The King June 8, 2017 at 1:13 pm #

      Yes just be sure to use it as a quote for the seven points by Mr. Wooden.

      Like

Leave a Reply

