Gallery

WHAT INSPIRES ME?

28 Jul

Today’s Five-Minute Free-Write Prompt:  Inspire

Link-Up here

What inspires me?  I could start with a list like the Bible, books in general, family, a sunrise/sunset, birds, butterflies, dragon flies, flowers, a new baby, and blogging.

My Bible – The greatest inspiration of my life has been the Bible.  Nothing, absolutely nothing inspires me more than opening my Bible and receiving a fresh new word from my Father.  Without fellowship with Him I would not be the woman I am today.  Without the inspired Word of God I would be a moody, unthankful wife, mom, grandmother.  My Bible gives me faith, provides me tools and directions to make me a better person, lifts me up on any day, teaches me to love others like Jesus.  How I wish I had loved this book so much more and spent more time in it when I was younger.

IMG_1239

Family – What can lift you up after God – family?  God created family so we didn’t have to be alone.  One of them can call or text and it makes me a happy wife, mom, Nana.  I mean really it makes my day.  Even interruptions of what I had planned for my day becomes full of joy seeing my grown-up adult children enjoying life with their family, seeing our toddler grandchildren playing together, and now watching three 4-month old babies smile back a me.  Those smiles are so BIG and so precious.  I think of how God smiles down at us when He watches us enjoying His creations or watching us in the Word.

IMG_6678-4

Books, books, books – I love books.  I can’t find the time to read novels like I had dreamed about when I retired.  I bought a bookcase of books at half-price books – books by Karen Kingsbury, one of my favorites and yes I have one of those I’m reading now – Take Three and Take Four.

I have had the privilege of reading books in my on-line Bible studies and in our women’s Bible studies at church.  I love an app called First Five that I read on my iPad each morning.  It has a new book that’s optional that I get about every day days or so.  It’s a perfect uplifting devotional each day that helps me grow.

Here’s what I’ve been reading this summer so far:  My New King James Version Bible, Take Three and Take Four by Karen Kingsbury, Me, Myself and Lies by Jennifer Rothschild (Proverbs 31 Online Bible Studies), Covenant (a study of the Psalms) and about to start Suffering and Sovereignty (a study on Job, Lamentations, and Ecclesiastes)

PicMonkey Image-115.jpg

 

 

9 Responses to “WHAT INSPIRES ME?”

  1. Lesley July 28, 2017 at 10:35 am #

    All these things inspire me too. I love that we can come to familiar Bible passages and find that God uses them to speak to us in a fresh way.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Blogger Loves The King August 3, 2017 at 8:43 am #

      Lesley He gives us just the right verses and puts us in exactly the studies we need to be. Love how He works.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Wise Hearted July 28, 2017 at 10:59 am #

    Book are one of my inspiration too…in them I have found the principal to live life by. They bring structure, peace, discipline, love, courage, builds faith, endurance. Thankful I can read for I know many who cannot. One thing the missionary in the jungles do is teach the village people how to read and write their own language. Then they translate the Bible to be given to those have learned to read and write….

    Like

  3. lynnjsimpson July 29, 2017 at 10:08 am #

    Those are all inspiring items! And like how you read so much. If you lived closer, I’d love to get together to just discuss books and how they have inspired us!

    Like

  4. SaraWrites July 29, 2017 at 6:05 pm #

    All of these are great inspirations. I too wish I valued the Word of God more when I was younger. I almost participated in the Proverbs31 study. This month I’m doing a daily blogging challenge so my time was taken up with writing. ^_^

    Like

    • Blogger Loves The King August 2, 2017 at 7:12 am #

      Thanks Sara. Enjoyed visiting you this morning and seeing your new format. Those blogging challenges daily are tough.

      You would love the Proverbs31 studies. They’ve changed my life. I used to just participate in a Facebook Group, and now I’m a coach. You should try it.

      Liked by 1 person

      • SaraWrites August 3, 2017 at 10:14 am #

        I’ve tried doing Bible studies in the past but always fizzle out. Last month I tried following along with Revive Our Hearts podcast study on taming the tongue. I think I lasted 10 days.

        It’s all about discipline isn’t it?

        Like

  5. Liz Giertz August 1, 2017 at 7:43 am #

    Inspiration is everywhere because God created it all! But you’re so right, the Bible exceeds all other sources! XO

    Like

  6. Jennifer August 2, 2017 at 2:23 pm #

    It was so nice to see you include – at the very first – the Bible and your consistent time in the Word. I read several of these posts (from this prompt) and they were wonderful…but not many included God’s word! I, too, have been enjoying several good Bible studies this summer! It has been a very special “season” in His Word. And Jennifer Rothschild is one of my favorites….going to check out that book now!!

    Have a great week!

    Like

Leave a Reply

