Gallery

31 Days of Faith, Family Home and Joy – Day 2 – LOVE

2 Oct

IMG_2058

This is Day of 2 of the 31 days writing challenge.  As I am deciding what to write, a message on my iPhone just relayed  that a shooting has occurred in Las Vegas.  My heart cries out reading that more than fifty people have died and 400 injured.  My heart cries out knowing the solution is not to get rid of guns and other things.  The only solution is love. My prayer goes out to each one of these families who have lost loved ones, and have injured loved ones.

Love  entails all the areas I plan to write about, and is a reminder from a sermon I heard a couple of Sundays ago as our pastor began a series speaking on the Fruit of the Spirit.

Love is the very first fruit mentioned in Galatians 5:22-23.  Why?  It is the most important.

What is love?  I went to the Bible to see how it explains love.

These are some of my favorite verses.  My husband reads them at weddings.  I can pretty much quote them, and I love putting my name in place of the word love, and she in place of the word of it.  Try it inserting your name and she.

1 Corinthians 13:4-8 (NASB)
Love is patient, love is kind and is not jealous; love does not brag and is not arrogant,does not act unbecomingly; it does not seek its own, is not provoked, does not take into account a wrong suffered, does not rejoice in unrighteousness, but rejoices with the truth; [a]bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things. Love never fails………

I feel a bit guilty reading that with my name inserted.  I am not always patient, kind, not envying, not boasting, not proud, not dishonoring others, not self-seeking, not easily angered, not keeping record of wrongs, not delighting in evil, rejoicing in truth, protecting, always trusting, always hopeful, always persevering.

In 1 Corinthians 13, we are reminded  how faith, hope and love abide, but the greatest of these is love.

Love is not self-seeking.  It is not self-centered.  It is always considerate of others.  To me this is one of the issues in our nation now.   We are inconsiderate of others, we seek our own agendas, we think we are entitled, and we are self-centered.  Love is being emphatic for others, not taking advantage of others.  For some it is all about me, me, me – not others.  Self-seeking is not God-seeking.  It’s not seeking our own way.

Leviticus 19:17-18  “Thou shalt not hate thy brother in thine heart: thou shalt in any wise rebuke thy neighbour, and not suffer sin upon him.  Thou shalt not avenge, nor bear any grudge against the children of thy people, but thou shalt love thy neighbour as thyself: I am the Lord.”
He that loveth not knoweth not God; for God is love 1 John 4:8 (KJV)
Matthew 22:37-40,  “Jesus said unto him, Thou shalt love the Lord thy God with all thy heart, and with all thy soul, and with all thy mind.”  This is the first and great commandment.  And the second is like unto it, Thou shalt love thy neighbour as thyself. On these two commandments hang all the law and the prophets.

In the book of Ruth we see how much Ruth loved Naomi.  When Naomi returns to her home land after both ladies are widowed, Ruth leaves her home land for a foreign land because she loves Naomi so very much.  Here are some verses  from Ruth of her conversation with Naomi.  My husband also has couples getting married repeat this to one another simultaneously.

Ruth 1:15-17 (KJV)
And Ruth said, Intreat me not to leave thee, or to return from following after thee: for whither thou goest, I will go; and where thou lodgest, I will lodge: thy people shall be my people, and thy God my God:   Where thou diest, will I die, and there will I be buried: the Lord do so to me, and more also, if ought but death part thee and me.
1 John 4:8  (KJV) “ He that loveth not knoweth not God; for God is love.”
A scribe asked Jesus  which is the greatest commandment of all.  Jesus responded Mark 2:29 -32 “And Jesus answered him, The first of all the commandments is, Hear, O Israel; The Lord our God is one Lord: And thou shalt love the Lord thy God with all thy heart, and with all thy soul, and with all thy mind, and with all thy strength: this is the first commandment. And the second is like, namely this, Thou shalt love thy neighbour as thyself. There is none other commandment greater than these.”

I leave you with this song by Sara Bareilles:

What The World Needs Now Is Love

I found this on You Tube.  She sang this 2016 Macy’s Fourth of July Fireworks Spectacular published on You Tube by María José Rodríguez on July 6, 2016.

Here are my other 31 Days Posts:

Day 1  – 31 Day of Faith, Family, Home and Joy 

Leave a Reply

