Gallery

31 Days of Faith, Family, Home and Joy – Day 4 – Worthy – An On-Line Bible Study Based On She’s Still There – My Notes Week 2 – Chapters 6-11

4 Oct

IMG_2113

This book just gets better and better.  We covered six chapters this week.  They are easy to read and it goes quickly.  Let me tell you each chapter has found a way to step on this girl’s toes.

Chapter 6- An Episode from Adolescence – You Are A Soul 

At one point in her life Chrystal tells us she went to her parents and told them, “I don’t know who I am”.  Her father’s response was, “you are Chrystal”.

Who am I?  Who are you?  We start having those doubts and Satan takes hold of us and tells us who we are NOT!  Are you trying to figure it out?  Have there been times you questioned who you are?  I know I have, but today I know who I am – I am Debbie, and I know whose I am – His. That’s all I need to know, but how do we get there – how did I get there?

I am a masterpiece.  I am a soul.  I am unique.  I was uniquely created.  There is no one like me?  I am His child.  I am loved.

Chrystal spoke to us in a video this week about something I had never thought about.  I knew our fingerprints are unique.  But have you ever thought about your DNA, your culture, your relationships and so much more even your signature?  Crystal says “there is no one like you, no one can do you like you do.”

Chrystal reminds us even if we have it all figured out things can shift.   You know what I mean if you have lived long enough.  One moment life seems perfect, and the next moment it is not.  My husband often reminds me this won’t last – these good times – there will be hard, and he is right because life has been ups and downs and most of the time not of our own fault.  This hit close to home last week when we went to the hospital to visit a friend who had a stroke and is critical with brain bleeding.  It hit home this week as I started having some back issues, and today going for an MRI.  It hits home when your children can’t have children.  It hits home when you lose a parent or parents.  It hits home when you have a child born with a disability.  It hits home in the loss of a job or a tornado, hurricane or fire destroy your home.  It hits home when you lose a child, brother or sister.

Chapter 7- Double Blue Lines – Chronicle of a Collision

When Chrystal was in college she became pregnant.  She had lost her “clarity and focus“.  Life became blurry and messy.  Her drifts and the decisions she was making she says “became a head-on collision.”    When she told the father of the child she was expecting, he told her it wasn’t his.  I can’t imagine the pain of a father saying that.

Like Chrystal, sometimes our crashes are our own fault like taking that first drink, having that first drug, following the crowd or how about texting and driving.  One moment can change our life and others forever.  Warnings all over the place – we’ve met alcoholics, drug addicts, people who have caused a death because they were texting or dialing a number or drinking and driving.  We lost family members because of drinking and drugs, and marriages break up.

I love this quote from page 84, “While there may be times when I feel that things cannot be repaired, they are never beyond repair when placed in the hands of the One who can make something out of nothing, mend what is broken, restore  what seems unsalvageable.”

God is right there waiting no matter what we are going through.

The Lord hath appeared of old unto me, saying, Yea, I have loved thee with an everlasting love: therefore with lovingkindness have I drawn thee.                          Jeremiah 31:3 (KJV)

Ye have not chosen me, but I have chosen you…..John 15:16 (KJV)

 

Chapter 8- Double Blue Lines – Precious Cargo – Carry Your Contents Carefully

Have you ever fallen asleep driving?  Chrystal did not.   She fell asleep at a red light long enough for people to call and the police arrive.  She reminds us that we are precious cargo, and that it is our duty to love ourselves enough to live with hope, intention, and focus, and to never forget that we “are behind the wheel.” It is our “choice to live with acute awareness is the key to getting where you’ve been designed to go.”  Ouch she is stepping on my toes.

Raising my hand up here I have not been living as responsibly as I should.  I need to walk more and I need to eat less.  Since this chapter I’m pushing that pedometer up, up, up and I’m watching more of what I eat.

Chapter 9- Gain Perspective – Look and Listen

GAIN – Gifts, Abilities, Interests, Nature

We all have gifts whether we think we do or not.  Crystal reminds us that “God expects us to discover, develop, and deploy our gifts as we live this life.”  She began to list her gifts, abilities, interests, and her nature.  She did all this to gain a new perspective and encouraged us to do the same.

I thought about my gifts – good listener, abilities – good with numbers, love grand baby sitting, and interests – reading, genealogy, cooking, walking, mowing, taking care of grandchildren, meeting someone for lunch

 

Chapter 10 – Wake Up and Drive  – Participate and Drive

Have you ever fallen asleep at the wheel?  I have NOT, but my husband has once or twice in 48 years,  and that keeps me from napping when we are traveling.

Each chapter steps on my toes, pricks at my heart.  It’s that weight thing.  I know I’m fat.  Maybe this is where I had to get to move forward.  I look in the mirror and appalled at what I see.  That skinny girl – where is she?  Chrystal says, “We cannot give our hearts to God and keep our bodies for ourselves”, and “each and every day, your body moves one step closer to its inevitable end.”

She also talks about something you know if you are a woman and that is we are always taking care of someone else but ourselves.  That’s the truth – we raise our children, we work outside the home, we are doing things at church, we take care of aging parents and then grandchildren.  I know I need to exercise and this book has caused me to stop and listen.  I’ve been working hard to get in 10,000 steps a day and eat healthier, but oh that healthy part comes hard for me.

To lose weight we have to wake up and participate.  I need to make a menu and post it each week.  I’m not consistent.  I need to push myself to reach those 10,000 steps.  Our den is big.  I had hit my 10,000 yesterday, but when my husband went to shower I spent the next 15 minutes running around the sofa adding another 1,000 steps.

One of my favorite parts of the chapter was when Chrystal says that a mentor advised her to “get up every morning, stretch my hands to heaven before my feet hit the floor, and offer God my mind, my heart, and my day.”  Do you get up and ask God what He wants you to do today?  My husband asked me the other morning when he was leaving what my agenda was for today.  I said well Hope and Cal are coming and whatever else the Lord asks me to do.  We have to be open each day to be available for whatever assignment He sends our way.

Chapter 12 – Follow The Yellow Crumb Road  – You Don’t Have To Know It All

This chapter starts with something I have failed to do – not allowing the kids and grandkids to eat anywhere but the kitchen.  Someday!  Those trails they leave are now as crumbs.  Yep Chrystal reminds you can follow those crumbs the kids leave, but she also reminds us of the crumbs that our Lord leaves.  Are we following them?  I can yes to some and no to others.  There is so much in the Word to learn and follow, but first I have to be in the Word to know what the crumbs are.

We have to follow the trail that He has given us.  Here are a few verses that reminds us to follow the trail in the KJV (Chrystal uses the NLT):

Order my steps in thy word: and let not any iniquity have dominion over me.  Psalm 119:133

The steps of a good man are ordered by the Lord: and he delighteth in his way.  Psalm 37:23

A man’s heart deviseth his way: but the Lord directeth his steps.  Proverbs 16:9

Thou wilt shew me the path of life: in thy presence is fulness of joy; at thy right hand there are pleasures for evermore.  Psalm 16:11

 

You can  my Week 1 notes for Chapters 1-5 here.

You can read the rest of my 31 Days Series below:

Day 1 – 31 Days of Faith, Family, Home, Fitness, Coffee and Joy

Day 2 – Love

Day 3 – Did Someone Say Coffee-eeee?

 

Leave a Reply

