Gallery

31 Days of Faith, Family, Home and Joy – Day 5 – Books I’m Reading, Cuppa Tea and Joy

5 Oct

IMG_2137-1I love iced tea all year round, but when the weather starts getting cooler, and especially on a winter’s night when I can’t sleep I’ll jump up and make a cup of special tea.  It might be peppermint, wild sweet orange, ginger aid, eggnog, chai spice, chocolate roobis and, and, and …….

Today I’m having a cup of Joy it’s called.  It is a blend of black tea, oolong, jasmine green tea, and hints of peach.  YUM!  I am enjoying it in one of my Mom’s teacups and thinking of her this afternoon, missing her, and remembering and thanking God for all the joyful times.

What am I reading this Fall.  I am finishing up She’s Still There by Chrystal Evans Hurst in my Worthy Bible Study, reading Take Three and Take Four a  series by Karen Kingsbury, and my daily devotions with Proverbs 31 First 5 App called Suffering and Sovereignty on the Bible Books of  Job, Lamentations, and Ecclesiastes.

______________________________________________________________________________

Here are some of my favorite quotes on joy:

“The secret to joy is to keep seeking God where we doubt he is.”  Ann Voskamp

If you have no joy there is a leak in your christianity somewhere.  Billy Sunday

Joy is not necessarily the absence of suffering, it is the presence of God.”  Sam Storms

Joy is strength.  Mother Teresa

Joy does not simply happen to us.  We have to choose joy and keep choosing it every day. Henri  J. M. Nouwen

Scatter Joy  Ralph Waldo Emerson

While we are talking about joy, I’ll share it is my favorite word in the English language (not counting Mom and Nana).

_____________________________________________________________________________

Here are some of my favorite Bible verses on joy:

My brethren, count it all joy when ye fall into divers temptations; Knowing this, that the trying of your faith worketh patience.  James 1:2-3 KJV

Thou wilt shew me the path of life: in thy presence is fulness of joy; at thy right hand there are pleasures for evermore.  Psalm 16:11 (KJV)

I have no greater joy than to hear that my children walk in truth.  3 John 4 (KJV)

______________________________________________________________________________

Blogs I’ve written about joy:

Create Joy Each Day

A Thankful Heart is a Joyful Heart

Advent Week 3 – The Joy of Christmas

Christmas Is Full of Joy – Not Filling the Calendar

Advent Week 2 – Joy

48 Hour Joyful-Praying-Thankful Challenge

______________________________________________________________________________

You can read the rest of my 31 Days Series below:

Day 1 – 31 Days of Faith, Family, Home, Fitness, Coffee and Joy

Day 2 – Love

Day 3 – Did Someone Say Coffee-eeee?

Day 4 – Worthy an Online Bible Study of She’s Still There – My Week 2 Notes, Chapters 6-11

 

Leave a Reply

