Gallery

31 Days of Faith, Family, Home and Joy – Day 7 – Things I Like About Fall

8 Oct

Fall has not really arrived here in Texas even though the calendar says it has, but come Tuesday the low will be in the 50s and high in the  70s.

Cooler Walks – come Tuesday morning that 50s will be a little cool for me.  Might have to wait for an afternoon walk.

IMG_2026

Our leaves have been falling, but it’s more because of lack of rain in September.  They are still pretty though, and I love to see them floating down.

Hot Chocolate – Don’t you love hot chocolate especially with marshmallows.  Our grandsons love it.

Fuzzy socks – Nothing like a good pair of fuzzy socks, except my flip flops.

Rain – I think I enjoy the Fall rains more than anytime of the year.  In the Spring we have so many storms and tornadoes that it’s takes the enjoyment out of the rain.

Decorating – I decorated early this year.  It’s almost as much as Christmas.

 

Pumpkins and Mums – I get excited about pumpkins and mums.  I love our two-year older toddler walking in and saying, “Nana has pumpkins.”

Pumpkin Patches – Can’t wait to go to the pumpkin patch with the two toddler grandsons again this year.

Soup and Stew – We had a little cool streak a few weeks ago.  I made my Hamburger Soup.  I think it is on the menu again later this week.  Love soup and cornbread.

Cuddling up to a good book – I enjoy reading a good fiction book.  Most days I’m in my Bible and reading whatever the current study book is in my church and on-line Bible studies.  I am a coach volunteer for Proverbs 31 Online Bible Studies.  Our next study is Max Lucado’s book Anxious For Nothing.  

Candy Corn with Peanuts – I love this.  Just two ingredients.  See recipe here.  I also love putting it in a candy dish that belonged to my Mom.

Pumpkin Bread – I love my Mom’s pumpkin bread recipe.  Not sure where she got it (maybe off a can of pumpkin makes sense), but it’s very old.  I’ve been making it myself for fifty years.  You can find the recipe here.

Thanksgiving Meals – Thanksgiving meals always mean joining with some of the family.  Since I’ve lost both parents most years now it’s just with the kids.

You can read the rest of my 31 Days Series below:

Day 1 – 31 Days of Faith, Family, Home, Fitness, Coffee and Joy

Day 2 – Love

Day 3 – Did Someone Say Coffee-eeee?

Day 4 – Worthy an Online Bible Study of She’s Still There – My Week 2 Notes, Chapters 6-11

Day 5 –  Books I’m Reading, Cuppa Tea and Joy

Day 6 – His Mercies Are New Every Morning

 

 

4 Responses to “31 Days of Faith, Family, Home and Joy – Day 7 – Things I Like About Fall”

  1. Heather Roberts October 9, 2017 at 5:53 am #

    My favorite from your list are the gigantic colorful mums.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Blogger Loves The King October 23, 2017 at 11:19 pm #

      YES Heather. I love those mums and never had white ones before.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. lynnjsimpson October 9, 2017 at 11:14 am #

    There a so many wonderful things about fall! I know we have already had a dusting of snow, but the constant up and down change of temperature makes a daily adventure of fall. And I love adventures! That pumpkin bread looks really good. I haven’t used my tube pan in a very long time, and maybe it’s time too by baking a pumpkin bread/cake.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Blogger Loves The King October 23, 2017 at 11:29 pm #

      Pull out that pan and bake. It’s so good. I use a bundt pan.

      Like

Leave a Reply

