Gallery

31 Days of Faith, Family, Home and Joy – Day 15 – Worthy – An On-Line Bible Study Based On She’s Still There – My Notes Week 4 – Chapters 16-21

19 Oct




Week 4 and this study zoomed by.  In fact it’s over and during this break I am trying to catch up on my notes – so many of them, and I have scribbled video and conference call notes that I want to get typed up and in a notebook.  These were too good, and I wrote down so many things I don’t want to forget.  It’s been an awesome study y’all, and one that I will not forget.  You can still do the study here.

 

Chapter 16- Dig Deep – Focus on the Finish

This chapter speaks to us about focus, and like Chrystal I struggle with focus in making healthier choices with food.  I do great with meals at home and out, but those snacks are what get me most of the time.

Like Chrystal too I am distracted by technology.  I mean really I have so many things open right now on my laptop, and I am constantly jumping back and forth.  I’ll hop on here to do one thing, and an hour later I have not done that one thing or forget why I hopped on here.

She reminds us that “focus always starts with a simple decision to do one thing with what you have, decide on a direction, use discernment, and finally exercise discipline.”  I do that with my dieting, but somewhere the discipline fails.

Have you ever found yourself knowing where you want to go or who you desire to be and losing focus?  It is never too late – FOCUS.

Brethren, I count not myself to have apprehended: but this one thing I do, forgetting those things which are behind, and reaching forth unto those things which are before. I press toward the mark for the prize of the high calling of God in Christ Jesus.   3:13:14 (KJV)  

Now verse map this verse.

I forget those things that are behind.  I reach forth unto those things which are before.  I press forward.  That is true FOCUS.

IMG_1993

I love how every single study touches on something that is going on in my life right now.  We were reading this chapter, and I went to school to sub and that was on the wall.

Chapter 17- Analysis Paralysis– Make a Decision

Raising my hand right with Chrystal on being “extremely indecisive.”  When we buy something it takes me forever to decide.  I research, look at reviews and spend weeks, but guess what most of the time I am so happy with our purchases.  We recently bought a new washer and dryer, and I pondered and worried until the day they delivered them and I saw how they looked in my laundry room.   Yes I liked the reviews and the looks of them, but then I could not imagine how they would look in the laundry room.  I love doing laundry now.

Analysis paralysis is when we delay a decision or never make a decision because we are so overwhelmed by the options and overthinking them.  I’ve been there too even recently.  I want a new desk, but again how will it look in the office.  I worry about not liking it and having to send it back so I do nothing.

When we have a destination in mind, Chrystal gave us three steps to making a decision:

  1. Write it down.  That is a step to making it happen.
  2. Remember it.  Put it where you see it.
  3. Rehearse it.  Share with someone.

Chapter 18- Forty and Fat– Maintain Your Direction by Paying Attention

One of my favorite quotes from the book, and a great reminder I don’t want to forget because it has spurred me on these last few weeks to walk 45-min 3 or 4 days a week.  I’m not there yet with my eating, but making progress, and doing well drinking water.  Here is my biggest take away from the chapter:

“Without treasuring the gift of life that God gave to me, and without doing what was in my power to take care of myself, I looked up years down the road and realized that my health was way off course.  And the health of my soul was off course too.”

If my weight is off course and my health is off course, most definitely I realize as much as I love my Lord that my soul is off course until I get the diet under control.

Chapter 19- People, Places and Things– Use Discernment

We need people in our lives who will promote us moving forward.  Chrystal reminds us we always have Jesus who is our “perfect pacer, partner, and promoter” so start with Him.

We need to put ourselves in places where we are surrounded by others who honor God.

Don’t allow things to rob us of living the life we were meant to live.

Chapter 20- A Gift You Give Yourself – Exercise Discipline

The discipline we use to  live our life is the foundation which helps us live the life that we love, and we have to use that discipline to accomplish our goals.  Funny the chapter title says, “exercise discipline.”  I am so into exercising lately and it is taking a whole lot of exercise to discipline myself to walk 45 minutes.

Chapter 21- Five To Seven Yellow Lines– Just Keep Going

Sometimes like Chrystal it’s hard driving to a new destination, but we have to keep our eyes on those yellow lines in the road, or whatever color they are.  The key is to just keep moving on those lines on the road of our lives.  Keep moving.  It’s a key I’m learning as I get older.

Enjoy the rest of my 31 Days Series below:

Day 1 – 31 Days of Faith, Family, Home, Fitness, Coffee and Joy

Day 2 – Love

Day 3 – Did Someone Say Coffee-eeee?

Day 4 – Worthy an Online Bible Study of She’s Still There – My Week 2 Notes, Chapters 6-11

Day 5 –  Books I’m Reading, Cuppa Tea and Joy

Day 6 – His Mercies Are New Every Morning

Day 7 – Things I Love About Fall

Day 8 – Free Printable Lunch Box Notes

Day 9 – Prayer Walk

Day 10 – Refrigerator Thingy Notes – Free Printables

Day 11 – Worthy – An On-Line Bible Study Based On She’s Still There – My Notes Week 3 – Chapters 12-15

Day 12 – I’ll Worship Him In The Waiting

Day 13 – A Trip To The Dallas Arboretum

Day 14 – Fitness Bible Verses – Free Printable

 

 

2 Responses to “31 Days of Faith, Family, Home and Joy – Day 15 – Worthy – An On-Line Bible Study Based On She’s Still There – My Notes Week 4 – Chapters 16-21”

  1. Tammy October 19, 2017 at 9:04 am #

    This study looks good!! I enjoyed reading your notes.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Blogger Loves The King October 23, 2017 at 6:57 am #

      Thanks Tammy. It’s been one of my favorites.

      Like

Leave a Reply

