Gallery

31 Days of Faith, Family, Home and Joy – Day 21 – Worthy – An On-Line Bible Study Based On She’s Still There – My Notes Week 5 – Chapters 22-25

25 Oct

 

IMG_2307

This study and reading of this book has zoomed by.  Every page, every video has been so filling.  I don’t want this to end, but they say, “all good things must come to an end.”

Chapter 22- Be Your Own Best Friend – Coach Yourself

Chrystal has a friend who has learned to be her own best friend.  When her friend gets tired of doing things that have gotten her to where she is, she encourages herself to keep doing them.

We need to be our own encourager – our own cheerleader, but how?  I know for me I can start telling myself all the things I am not good at, that I messed up, I’m not as young, and on and on.

God has given us all so many abilities and gifts.  How do we honor Him with them?   It should be with every breath.  We should be using our abilities and gifts to bless others.

We were reminded that “our words matter.”    The Bible tells us in Proverbs 18:21 that our tongues  “have the power of life and death.”  That tongue can be an influence in coaching ourselves with life-giving words.

Three points Chrystal shared to tell ourselves:

  1. Speak kindly
  2. Speak with love
  3. And truth.

Have you ever looked in the mirror?  Have you spoken words that matter?  Look at yourself and speak words of life that remind you who you really are, what is possible, and what you can be.  Don’t speak words that tell you that you are “fat”, “old”, “wrinkled”, “stupid”.  Don’t rehearse what is wrong, but what you can be, and what is right.  Silence the negative self-talk, and speak words that matter.

Chapter 23 – The Monster In Your Mind – Coach Your Head

Those monsters in our heads can kill.  Chrystal reminds us they can kill our hope, joy, and our motivation to “push past monetary problems”.  “Your thinking can either paralyze or propel you.”

When we have destructive thoughts, we need to think on what His Word says.  Here are a few verses to dwell on instead:

“For as he thinketh in his heart, so is he…..”  Proverbs 23:7 (KJV)

“Finally, brethren, whatsoever things are true, whatsoever things are honest, whatsoever things are just, whatsoever things are pure, whatsoever things are lovely, whatsoever things are of good report; if there be any virtue, and if there be any praise, think on these things.”  Philippians 4:8 (KJV)

I loved Chrystal’s story of notes on her mirror.  Do you write notes on your mirror or post them?  I do.  I often post Bible verses I am memorizing.

Chrystal’s mirror had notes to reminder her she was a good writer, she was good enough, she was the only person who could write like her, ……Chrystal’s sister posted those notes to remind her.  I am so glad she did, and so glad to have this book in my library.

OUR THOUGHTS MATTER!

Chapter 24 -Swim Against The Current – Coach Your Heart

Why is it we tend to focus on the one thing that is going wrong in our life?  Truly I am getting better at focusing on what is good.  I loved it when my hubby and I were driving home from visiting a friend in the hospital in Dallas on Sunday and we were in a back-up of traffic (especially last day of the fair traffic).  He tends to get upset but Sunday he said well at least we are in a cool car, moving and not in a covered wagon.  I’m thinking and not in all the clothes those people dressed, in and it would have taken hours to get where we were going.

We have a tendency to focus on that one bad thing.  Chrystal shares how a friend was focusing on words like, “always, never, everything, and nothing.”

We were reminded it is “our job to coach our hearts and coach ourselves back to emotional stability.”  Those battles between the heart and what we know are true in our heads is the most difficult, but the head can win if we let it rule.  She gave some great examples of showing up:

  • Acting cheerful when we don’t want to
  • Serving when we don’t have a servant’s heart
  • Smiling at our children when we really want to scream
  • Supporting our husbands when we wonder why they made some decisions

and so many more in the book.

Chapter 25 – Put A Little Sugar On It – Coach Your Hands

I can associate with this girl, Chrystal.  Yes, I love to plan also.   I love my new 2018 planner (see it here).  The problem is we have plans with no action.

This book has been instrumental in making me think about my weight, and well I’m using my planner and my pedometer to track steps and meals.  I am doing great on my walking – most days 10,000 or more steps, but I need to work on my meal planning, especially snack planning.

Chrystal says to sit down and do a brain dump.  I call it brain storming.  Write down the mundane tasks and your dreams, pick three things, and focus on them.  We need to create checkpoints.  She shares a whole lot of ideas/priorities to choose from in this chapter so check it out.

My three for the next 90 days (Hmmmm with the holidays):

Weight – Walking with a goal of 10,000 steps a day.  That’s a hefty goal and let me tell you I’ve been walking and it’s hard to get 5,000 steps on some days.

Meal Planning to watch what I eat and why I eat.  I need to identify my triggers and learn to control them.  Snacking is an addiction.  I know it.

Organization – Continue to get rid of stuff.  90 days – 90 things.

Chrystal recommends ninety days,  three things, prioritize them (I’m trying to prioritize that walking and well it takes a good hour out of my already busy days), check in (I’m trying to come up with some sort of spreadsheet,  and maybe join Weight Watchers), and correct when I get off track.

Enjoy the rest of my 31 Days Series below:

Day 1 – 31 Days of Faith, Family, Home, Fitness, Coffee and Joy

Day 2 – Love

Day 3 – Did Someone Say Coffee-eeee?

Day 4 – Worthy an Online Bible Study of She’s Still There – My Week 2 Notes, Chapters 6-11

Day 5 –  Books I’m Reading, Cuppa Tea and Joy

Day 6 – His Mercies Are New Every Morning

Day 7 – Things I Love About Fall

Day 8 – Free Printable Lunch Box Notes

Day 9 – Prayer Walk

Day 10 – Refrigerator Thingy Notes – Free Printables

Day 11 – Worthy – An On-Line Bible Study Based On She’s Still There – My Notes Week 3 – Chapters 12-15

Day 12 – I’ll Worship Him In The Waiting

Day 13 – A Trip To The Dallas Arboretum

Day 14 – Fitness Bible Verses – Free Printable

Day 15 – Worthy – An On-Line Bible Study Based on She’s Still There – My Notes Week 4 – Chapters 16-21

Day 16 – Anxious for Nothing – An On-Line Bible Study – My OBS Story

Day 17 – If My People – 1 Chronicles 7:14 (KJV)

Day 18 – My Planner

Day 19 – I Lost My Socks

Day 20 – God Whispers To Us

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

