31 Days of Faith, Family, Home and Joy – Day 25 – My Weight Loss Journey Starts Here

31 Oct


That’s our 2-year old grandson sitting on an old tractor at the Shadow Creek Pumpkin Patch.  Love taking those grands places.

I grew up in Texas.  Still in Texas.  I grew up on fried chicken, chicken fried steak, gravy, fried potatoes, mashed potatoes, occasionally a roast or steak and fried pork chops.  You got it – fried.  Maybe all that fried food kept me skinny because  as a teenager and young married wife at 102-120 pounds I was,  until after that second baby.  I believe that was about the time I stopped frying and eating healthy.

I’m not sure what changed, but I do know I eat too much sugar and salty snacks, but how does that out do fried? Or maybe it was all the diet Dr. Pepper. Or, maybe it is a heart issue.

This is a real struggle for me to start a healthy weight loss journey.  Actually I started a couple of weeks ago.  I don’t know where this journey will take me, but I do know I can’t make it alone.  It takes a lot of gumption to put on my walking shoes and walk for 45 minutes.  It takes a lot of strength to eat healthy snacks (not a big fruit eater), and yes I’ve lost my strength a few times this week.  It also takes re-prioritizing my days because they are jam-packed, and fitting in a long walk  is hard because I have to not do something else.

I know I need to give up sugar and diet drinks, and I need to add a whole lot of exercise.

I’ve started walking in the neighborhood for 35-45 minutes at a fast pace, and I am wearing a pedometer and shooting for 10,000 steps a day – some days it is 15,000 steps and sometimes I only get in 7,000 – but hey that’s progress and I’m not sitting on my bottom.

I’ve got to add in more fruits, cut out sugar.  Sugar is an addiction just like alcohol.  Alcoholics can break that chain, so I can too.

My goals:

  • Look at food as fuel for my body.
  • Drink lemon water most mornings.  That is hard too because I have to wait thirty minutes on breakfast and that first cup of coffee.
  • Eat three small meals a day – healthy fats, carbs and lean protein and fish
  • Eat healthy snacks – popcorn, nuts, fruits
  • Limit diet drinks
  • Exercise – walk on the treadmill, use my pilates chair, walk in the neighborhood
  • Blog about my progress at least once a week for the next 90 days.  I hope you’ll follow me.
  • Drink half my body weight in water (that’s going to be hard) each day.
  • Do some squats each day.
  • Read over my Bible verses I shared here

I’ve heard it said it takes 3-4 weeks for a person to notice a change.  I’m not seeing it at 3 except for a few pounds lost.  I’ve also heard others will notice in about 8 weeks.  I hope so.

Last Friday we went in for our physicals.  My weight was down a few pounds from April, but the big thing my cholesterol was down without meds to almost normal.  The nurse called Saturday,  and the doctor said for me to keep doing what I am doing.  YEA!

“The biggest mistake people make is to try to lose weight too fast.”  Dr. Mehmet Oz

“God is more concerned with the attitudes of our hearts than the activities of our bodies”                                   UNGLUED by Lysa TerKeurst

“For bodily exercise profiteth little: but godliness is profitable unto all things, having promise of the life that now is, and of that which is to come.”  1 Timothy 4:8  (KJV)

“It’s godliness, not godlessness that is going to get me there.”  Debbie Williams

I hope you’ll keep up with my journey the next 90 days, as I work towards a newer me the next 90 days.  What a time to start here at Thanksgiving and Christmas!

 

Enjoy the rest of my 31 Days Series below:

Day 1 – 31 Days of Faith, Family, Home, Fitness, Coffee and Joy

Day 2 – Love

Day 3 – Did Someone Say Coffee-eeee?

Day 4 – Worthy an Online Bible Study of She’s Still There – My Week 2 Notes, Chapters 6-11

Day 5 –  Books I’m Reading, Cuppa Tea and Joy

Day 6 – His Mercies Are New Every Morning

Day 7 – Things I Love About Fall

Day 8 – Free Printable Lunch Box Notes

Day 9 – Prayer Walk

Day 10 – Refrigerator Thingy Notes – Free Printables

Day 11 – Worthy – An On-Line Bible Study Based On She’s Still There – My Notes Week 3 – Chapters 12-15

Day 12 – I’ll Worship Him In The Waiting

Day 13 – A Trip To The Dallas Arboretum

Day 14 – Fitness Bible Verses – Free Printable

Day 15 – Worthy – An On-Line Bible Study Based on She’s Still There – My Notes Week 4 – Chapters 16-21

Day 16 – Anxious for Nothing – An On-Line Bible Study – My OBS Story

Day 17 – If My People – 1 Chronicles 7:14 (KJV)

Day 18 – My Planner

Day 19 – I Lost My Socks

Day 20 – God Whispers To Us

Day 21 – Worthy – An On-Line Bible Study Based On She’s Still There – My Notes Week 5 – Chapters 22-2

Day 22 – Laughter

Day 23 – Acts 5:42 – Day After Day

Day 24 – Senior Discounts

 

One Response to “31 Days of Faith, Family, Home and Joy – Day 25 – My Weight Loss Journey Starts Here”

  1. GGMandy November 2, 2017 at 12:42 pm #

    Debbie, I need to join you in this effort. My daughter is getting married next May. Would really like to lose a few pounds before then. My stepping goal is only 3500 due to my chronic illness, but I’m allowed to ride my stationary bike for ten minutes twice a day. really need to do this. Gotta get some true accountability partners.

    Like

Leave a Reply

